Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-25-2008, 10:52 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Truss attachment

Good evening.
I am building a 2000 sq. ft. home, one level, 5" radiant slab floor, 2 x 6 const. The trusses will make the roof slope 4 in 12 with a single peak running east to west not quite centered from north to south.

The south wall and north wall are 46 feet apart. The two interior bearing walls are at 24' and 36' from the south wall measuring south to north.

My big question is whether or not to attach the trusses to the interior bearing walls by nailing directly to the top plates, or to use steel simpson brackets that hold the trusses laterally but allow them to float vertically for thermal expansion and contraction.

This is my first building using trusses and I really need to know the pros and cons of the two different attachment methods.

Thank you very much for your time.

Solar Dave

Solar Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 08:56 PM   #2
General Contractor

Rewards Points: 500

Truss attachment

You didn't indicate a location, which will affect the answer. In Oklahoma, truss "lift" is pretty rare, and we attach the bottom chords to the interior walls, to secure the walls, not to provide "bearing support" for trusses. In extreme climates, temperature changes can actually cause the top rafters of a truss to "shrink" or humidity to expand the length...causing lift.

joasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 09:50 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 10

Truss attachment

Quote:
Originally Posted by joasis View Post