Thoughts On This Stick-built Roof - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-08-2009, 02:57 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Thoughts on this stick-built roof

My house never ceases to make me wonder.

This house was built in '65 by a man who was a carpenter by trade. He actually developed the entire neighbourhood and built several of the houses himself. This house, the second one finished on the street, was intended to be his own personal home. I sure hope that means that he did things right. The source of this information? My next door neighbour that bought the first house built here, and then watched my house being built. He might be old, but he sure does have a sharp mind.

Since I have some time today, I'd like to hear what folks in the know have to say about this stick-built roof. Not knowing squat about stick built roofs, I'm not certain if anything needs to be done to it, so I'll toss up some photos and ask some questions.

A view from the attic ladder. No pre-made trusses here! Kindly ignore the random bits of millwork laying over the collar ties. The ridge board appears to be a 2X10, the rafters and ceiling joists are all 2X8, each 24" OC, Purlins are 2X4, struts are 1X4, and the collar ties are pieces of shiplap identical to the roof deck.

I find it interesting that all of the ceiling joists that can be seen run the full span of the house in one piece. Must be made of miracle wonder wood, because the center of the house is open from one outside wall to the other, and there is no detectable sag anywhere even after almost 45 years. (I sure hope I am as sag-free at that age!)

I'll try to give you guys a better view of everything: A little to the left of the first photo.

And a little to the right of the first photo.

And upward.