Tension Wire As Rafter Ties?? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2011, 07:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tension wire as rafter ties??


Hi,

Has anyone used tension wires as rafter ties? Or aluminum perhaps?

My garage already have joists from wall to wall but I feel they are not enough. However, I also feel like a 2x4 by 20 ft will be too heavy, any alternative?

Advertisement

Wolfen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:25 PM   #2
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

tension wire as rafter ties??


Why do you think that you need rafter ties? As you already have the required joist's.

Edit --- Here's an article you might find interesting.
http://www.finehomebuilding.com/how-...llar-ties.aspx

Mark

Advertisement

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done

Last edited by Jackofall1; 02-27-2011 at 08:30 PM.
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:56 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tension wire as rafter ties??


Because there are only 4 joists, garage width is 20 ft. There's also a new much heavier aircondition unit installed on top of garage which was I think was not factored in on the original construction of the garage. I've just bought the house recently.
Wolfen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 09:34 PM   #4
Member
 
iminaquagmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 370
Rewards Points: 250
Default

tension wire as rafter ties??


Talk to a structural engineer as they will have the info you'll need for sizing cables anyway. Its possible however that what you have is perfectly fine depending on your roof construction and pitch and your climate. Rafter ties are stressed in a different manner than joists as they only keep the roof from pushing the walls out. They are not meant to be loaded and are only under tension. As such, just 2x4 material can work in even a northern snowy climate as the material can handle tension more than it can handle deflecting loads.
iminaquagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 09:44 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tension wire as rafter ties??


Climate here is usually warm... Los Angeles so, the warmer, the less need for rafter ties?
Wolfen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 08:22 AM   #6
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,826
Rewards Points: 2,286
Default

tension wire as rafter ties??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfen View Post
Climate here is usually warm... Los Angeles so, the warmer, the less need for rafter ties?
Ayuh,... Correct,... No snow loads...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 06:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

tension wire as rafter ties??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfen View Post
There's also a new much heavier aircondition unit installed on top of garage.
Is the unit under the roof, supported by the ceiling joists or above the roof, out in the weather!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 11:24 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tension wire as rafter ties??


my Central HVAC (huge one, for supporting 4 bedrooms) is above the roof. right under the the hvac spot (inside, in the garage ceiling) there multiple rafters to reinforce that spot.. is that enough? is this a classic "if it aint broken dont fix it" kinda deal?
Wolfen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 11:52 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,993
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

tension wire as rafter ties??


From my library: http://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=105386

Pictures would be nice....... of the inside ties and rafters....

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 12:21 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vermont
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 500
Default

tension wire as rafter ties??


I've used cables to pull in an out of plumb wall, but, since they sag according to the distance they span, a steel rod with threaded ends would be better in place of joists. If you re-use joists or add more, consider anchoring them to the rafters with bolts and toothed connectors. Correcting the cause of the sag would also need to take place

Advertisement

mrgins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimmer switch with Hot & Neutral wire ? Knucklez Electrical 3 12-28-2010 05:24 PM
Replacing rafter ties Jim F Roofing/Siding 6 08-17-2010 11:20 PM
Making room up in attic Proby Building & Construction 7 07-31-2010 09:24 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts