Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-08-2008, 11:22 PM   #1

Share |

Taping inside corners....one side at a time?

I have been taping my inside corners, first doing one side and then the other side.

I seem to by making a little bit of a mess, right inside where the walls meet.

Should they be done one side at a time, let it dry and then do the other side?

Also, since I have never done this before, how will I know that I have done a half decent job taping and mudding before I put the primer on?

I have taken a lamp and put it on the wall to check for any imperfections.
I have done 4 coats on everything including the screws. I have lightly sanded and looks and feels smooth to me.

How will I know if when I put the primer and then paint whether I will see any imperfections?

Thanks

yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 06:24 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by yummy mummy View Post
I have been taping my inside corners, first doing one side and then the other side.

Also, since I have never done this before, how will I know that I have done a half decent job taping and mudding before I put the primer on?

I have done 4 coats on everything including the screws. I have lightly sanded and looks and feels smooth to me.

How will I know if when I put the primer and then paint whether I will see any imperfections?

Thanks
Although I cant answer your question, I can say that I just finised priming my entire basement (first tape/mud job ever) and I did it the same way.....one side and then the other and made a mess of the joint and corners when attempting the second side...

Needless to say its going on my lessons learned list....along with not using metal prepapered corner bead again, next time it will be plain metal.