Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2008, 10:25 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Tapcon Size?


I'm going to be using Tapcons to attached my pretreated 2x4 to my basement floor - any particular size I should be using?

Thanks

SnowUtopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 10:27 AM   #2
Mechanical Engineer
 
comp1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Tapcon Size?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowUtopia View Post
I'm going to be using Tapcons to attached my pretreated 2x4 to my basement floor - any particular size I should be using?

Thanks
Probably something like the 1/4" x 3".

I prefer the RedHead wedge anchors myself.

comp1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Tapcon Size?


Do you have to pre-drill the 3/16" holes in the concrete before drilling in your 1/4" Tapcon/Redhead wedge or can you just drill the Tapcon in without the hole?
mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Tapcon Size?


I have been told to drill the hole and then screw in the tapcon.
SnowUtopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 02:14 PM   #5
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Tapcon Size?


You "have to" pre drill the hole, otherwise it will not go into the concrete. I hate tapcons...the are great for what they do...but also I've twisted off about as many as I've set successfully. I had the most success using a driver bit in the hammer drill. A standard 18V drill driver would just twist them off.

I really like to use the power fastener from Remington with the ACQ rated fasteners for basement wall plate installations, way faster than tapcons. I've used them many times, and have not had any problems.
__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 02:16 PM   #6
Mechanical Engineer
 
comp1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Tapcon Size?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RippySkippy View Post
You "have to" pre drill the hole, otherwise it will not go into the concrete. I hate tapcons...the are great for what they do...but also I've twisted off about as many as I've set successfully. I had the most success using a driver bit in the hammer drill. A standard 18V drill driver would just twist them off.

I really like to use the power fastener from Remington with the ACQ rated fasteners for basement wall plate installations, way faster than tapcons. I've used them many times, and have not had any problems.
Yup this is the easiest.

I had access to a Hilti hammer drill so I drilled.

Tapcons are a pain to work with. The wedge anchors are a bit better and allow some fudge factor when squaring everything up. If you use the Remington you get one shot.

Last edited by comp1911; 06-17-2008 at 02:18 PM.
comp1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 02:20 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Tapcon Size?


For not much more than a big box of tapcon, you can buy a ramset and use 22 shot and drive nails.
Much quicker than the tapcons!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 02:22 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Tapcon Size?


how far apart should I put the tapcons into the floor?
SnowUtopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 03:43 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Tapcon Size?


If they're non-load-bearing walls, there isn't a code requirement for sole plate anchor spacing. I'd say no farther apart than 36", but that is a shot from the hip. Depends on the anchors you use. You definately want them at each side of splices in the sole plate and at both ends of every wall.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 06:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Tapcon Size?


Just tried putting my first tapcons in and I drilled the hole through the pretreated 2x4 and into the concrete and the tapcon will not stay in the floor - It pulls right out of the floor. Should I use longer tapcons or am I doing something else wrong? Thanks for all the help.
SnowUtopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 09:24 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Tapcon Size?


Are you usiing the correct size bit?
You may have to drill a larger hole through the wood, mark the spot in the concrete and then drill for the tapcon.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 08:10 AM   #12
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Tapcon Size?


See post #5 above.

The right bit size is imperative.
A 3/16 tapcon uses a 5/32 screw hole, while a 1/4 tapcon uses a 3/16 hole. It's always best to check the depth of your hole before trying to drill...make sure you have an additional 1/2 beyond the length of the screw. With compressed air, blow the dust and crumbs from the hole before trying to screw them in. If they simply are not holding, try using one that is longer. Two-by material should use screws at least 2-3/4" long.

But again....seriously...use the Remington Power fastener....you would of been done by the time you you got your drill out and the first hole drilled. To each their own, good luck.

__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 08:37 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Tapcon Size?


Rippy - thanks for the info. I talked to a couple contractor's last night and they all said the tapcons were not long enough. So at least 2-3/4? I was using the concrete bit that came in the pack of tapcons... I'm going to try the longer tapcons and if that doesn't work I will get the power fastener - I'm a glutton for punishment. Thanks.
SnowUtopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 08:19 PM   #14
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Tapcon Size?


You are wasting your time. I have used these and will not use anything else. the holding power can not be beat. Drill a 1/4 hole through the wood and into the concrete and just hammer them in you will need a large crow bar to remove them once there in. there call slit drive anchors, and come in all sizes. for 2x4 i would use the 3" good luck BOB.
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 02:51 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fayetteville Ga
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tapcon Size?


I am brand new to this forum. I have read everyones input on Tapcons. I installing a garage door header ( 16 x 7 ) in a brick carport. I assume Tapcons are the only way to avoid breaking the bricks. It will not be load bearing in any way ( using 2 x 12 anyway ) but how many fasteners ( and construction adhesive ? ) should I use per foot ?

Thanks guys

The Project Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size of whole house fan needed Doug Crf General DIY Discussions 20 02-25-2011 11:29 PM
I can't get tapcon screws to tap into the concrete slab!? Monty Building & Construction 24 08-07-2010 07:08 AM
What type / size screws for subloor project... scheenstra Building & Construction 1 05-17-2008 08:22 PM
What size SE conductors J. Voorhees Electrical 22 04-02-2008 09:47 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.