Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-14-2007, 02:03 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

Survey Results - Cavity Wall Insulation - Health Concerns

Hi,

I've just received my full building survey report for a property I am interested in purchasing. However, it mentions the existence of cavity wall insulation but not what TYPE (e.g. foam, etc.)

I have been told (by a friend) that if it is foam based, then to avoid the property as there are health concerns associated with such insulations (and cannot be removed as it is stuck to wall like expanding foam). These foam based insulations are now banned (so I believe).

I am no expert in this matter (hence I asked my friend for some advice who is also no expert) and would appreciate any input from forum members on this matter. I have asked the EA for some information on the type of insulation and also whether there is any guarantee/documentation available - I'm yet to hear back.

Thanks, Ash

mchu6am4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 02:10 PM   #2
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler

Rewards Points: 2,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by mchu6am4 View Post
Hi,

I've just received my full building survey report for a property I am interested in purchasing. However, it mentions the existence of cavity wall insulation but not what TYPE (e.g. foam, etc.)

I have been told (by a friend) that if it is foam based, then to avoid the property as there are health concerns associated with such insulations (and cannot be removed as it is stuck to wall like expanding foam). These foam based insulations are now banned (so I believe).