Studs Too Close Together For Structured Wiring Panel - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2009, 03:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


I'm trying to put an electrical panel inside a stud bay in a finished laundry room to serve as my central control panel for a structured wiring setup.

As it turns out, the one perfect bay is too narrow for my panel by 1/4". It's perfect because it lines up with an upstairs wall for the chase to the upstairs/attic and no there are no existing AC lines or plumbing to work around.

I'm actually putting 2 panels side by side in adjacent bays. One bay is ~16.75 on center and the other is ~15.25. So I have some room to work with on one side.

The wall separates the laundry room from the garage and is framed w/ 2x6's and sheathed with particle board and drywall. I'm planning to install the panel on the interior side which is only sheathed with drywall.

Any ideas on how to fix this without taking down the drywall? I only need about 1/4" to 3/8" more width. I've thought about trying to shave the middle stud (circular saw would only go about half way in depth), or cut it out and replace it with a thinner but stronger piece of plywood (but this would have to be mended into the stud somehow).

I already have the panels and REALLY want to use this location.

Would a shaved stud pass code? I could always push the panel on in the wide bay as far outboard as possible and then mend the stud with 1/2" plywood or something - not sure if that's needed?

By the way - whatever you do, don't search for "shaved stud" on google.

Help?

Advertisement

juengl4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 04:20 PM   #2
MXer
 
3 legged dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West Coast
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by juengl4 View Post
I'm trying to put an electrical panel inside a stud bay in a finished laundry room to serve as my central control panel for a structured wiring setup.

As it turns out, the one perfect bay is too narrow for my panel by 1/4". It's perfect because it lines up with an upstairs wall for the chase to the upstairs/attic and no there are no existing AC lines or plumbing to work around.

I'm actually putting 2 panels side by side in adjacent bays. One bay is ~16.75 on center and the other is ~15.25. So I have some room to work with on one side.

The wall separates the laundry room from the garage and is framed w/ 2x6's and sheathed with particle board and drywall. I'm planning to install the panel on the interior side which is only sheathed with drywall.

Any ideas on how to fix this without taking down the drywall? I only need about 1/4" to 3/8" more width. I've thought about trying to shave the middle stud (circular saw would only go about half way in depth), or cut it out and replace it with a thinner but stronger piece of plywood (but this would have to be mended into the stud somehow).

I already have the panels and REALLY want to use this location.

Would a shaved stud pass code? I could always push the panel on in the wide bay as far outboard as possible and then mend the stud with 1/2" plywood or something - not sure if that's needed?

By the way - whatever you do, don't search for "shaved stud" on google.

Help?


Advertisement

3 legged dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 04:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


One way to do it would be to get a large spade bit and drill to the depth you need all along the stud, then chisel out the wood in between. Time consuming, but easy to do.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 07:48 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
One way to do it would be to get a large spade bit and drill to the depth you need all along the stud, then chisel out the wood in between. Time consuming, but easy to do.
Ron
That's not a bad idea... Time consuming as you said, but very do-able.

I need to find out how much of a notch I can put in the stud before it would fail an inspection... I'd still plan to mend in a 1/2" thick piece of plywood on the opposite side from the notch, but I'm not sure how that would go over with an inspector...

Thanks for the idea!
juengl4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 07:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


one of the reciprocating jamb saws would work
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 10:10 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


this is a perfect application for one of those Fein (or whatever brand you prefer) oscillating saws.

shaved stud passing code? No idea but since this is the house/garage demising wall, I would presume it is also a firewall so be sure to maintain any fire rating that may apply as well.



Quote:
By the way - whatever you do, don't search for "shaved stud" on google
laughed so hard my wife made me tell her why. Then she laughed just as hard.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
this is a perfect application for one of those Fein (or whatever brand you prefer) oscillating saws.
Do they make blades long enough to do a 2x6? If not, it would at least get me most of the way and I could chisel the rest.

I'm taking a long hard look to find a better spot to put this thing. An interior wall would be much easier, but I don't have any that line up with the upstairs walls to get to the attic. I could try and run from one wall to another between ceiling joists but I'm not too keen about 20 or so data/RG6 cables laying on the ceiling drywall.

Thanks for the suggestions.
juengl4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:39 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


I do not think there is a blade long enough but what you can do is cut as far as the blade will reach and then cut perpendicular in to remove that piece. You will then have a stepped face where you would be able to start cutting again and on as you need.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:47 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I do not think there is a blade long enough but what you can do is cut as far as the blade will reach and then cut perpendicular in to remove that piece. You will then have a stepped face where you would be able to start cutting again and on as you need.
I got ya. Just nibble as much as I can get in one pass and then repeat...

Of course I don't own that tool. But it sure looks like something I'd like to own! I wonder if anybody around here (Portland, OR) rents one?
juengl4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:54 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


Dremel, Craftsman, Rockwell, and others are making them now that the patent and exclusivity has exprired. I have the one from Dremel - was about $100. Don't use it often, but it a great tool that will do jobs no other will.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 11:08 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


I am pretty sure Harbor Freight has one for $39. Not positive though I thought I saw one there. Not a bad investment to complete the job.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 04:33 PM   #12
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,227
Rewards Points: 2,364
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
I am pretty sure Harbor Freight has one for $39. Not positive though I thought I saw one there. Not a bad investment to complete the job.
Second on the Harbor Freight for $39. Not a tool that I expect to last forever but for a few uses it is great. I bought one on a whim but have used it a few times and it has saved me a bunch of time and a little blood.
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 07:41 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


you are only tryining for panel depth not the full 2x6?
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 07:47 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolk View Post
you are only tryining for panel depth not the full 2x6?
The panels I'm using are actually surplus panels that are designed for 5.5" recess. Perfect for a 2x6 framed wall.
juengl4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 08:53 AM   #15
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,276
Rewards Points: 3,192
Default

Studs too close together for structured wiring panel


If Ron or Naps ideas were not enough--Here is one more!

Get your self a cheap (Harbor freight?) Trim router with a 3/4" strait cutting bit to remove the majority of the wood--The small base should get you close--

Finish the job with a spade bit and chisel like Ron suggested--Or Naps idea!!

Good luck! Those FINE CUT saws look like a real handy special use tool--At $110. or so might be a nice addition to the tool pile!--MIKE--

Advertisement

oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
panel , structured wiring , studs


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring from panel Rick N. Electrical 6 07-10-2013 05:25 PM
Wiring a Panel DigitalFusion Electrical 10 11-08-2009 12:52 PM
Main Panel / Service Upgrades gbe Electrical 12 11-07-2009 12:20 AM
Before I close walls: hard wiring under cabinet lighting with Romex. jws3 Electrical 6 08-29-2009 01:24 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 06:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts