Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2012, 02:22 PM   #16
journeyman carpenter
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 2,714
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Stud wall: premake vs build in place?


stick frame basement walls in renos mainly because the old slabs are hardly ever even which means you can have a huge variation in studs lengths. if every stud works out to being within 1/8" of one another you can prebuild the wall and put it up.. the only different thing i do though is the bottom plate is already fixed. the studs arent nailed to the bottom plate only the top.. stand up the wall first then hop the studs up onto the bottom plate.. doing this allows you to get the wall standing up straight first and it doesnt destroy or pull off the vapour barrier...

woodworkbykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 02:07 AM   #17
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Stud wall: premake vs build in place?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
.....and no-one caught this????? wow.... just wow.

C\_/ <---free coffee for all!

DM
Loool oops. Unless I can get the atoms to align properly so I can put studs inside of studs, that ain't happening! Yes I meant every 16 inches. When it comes the time to do this I'll measure around to see what kind of variances I'm looking at with the floor/ceiling and if everything is close enough then I'll just prebuild. Otherwise I'll build stud by stud. Some spots I may have to do it that way no matter what such as where my server rack is as it will be a tight fit to get a prebuilt wall there.

I'll probably stick with using shims though if I do prebuild, from what I read I kinda want the wall to "float" as the floor may move over time. If the wall starts lifting up the house it may not be enough to cause damage, but it will be enough to perhaps open up tiny cracks that will let air and bugs in. Then again I will be spray foaming so this is probably not an issue.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Red Squirrel For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (12-16-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stud in middle of tub/shower plumbing wall. CharlieR Plumbing 2 11-06-2012 03:07 PM
build a new load bearing wall George Minor Building & Construction 4 07-01-2012 03:11 PM
how to insulate and build exterior basement wall brentschultz Building & Construction 3 02-03-2011 11:09 PM
Remove 20 inch Stud on A Bearing Wall triduong Building & Construction 7 08-03-2010 05:14 AM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.