Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2008, 04:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 49
Share |
Default

stove code


hello, im in the middle of selling my house, ive remodled the kitchen, but have not changed the position of any walls etc.
someone said that the stove is too close to the doorway and is not up to code requirements, the stove is in the same place as when we got the house . see the pic could anyone clear this up for me? im in canada
christoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 04:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 49
Default

stove code


sorry her is the pic
Attached Images
 
christoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 04:23 PM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

stove code


i think you forgot the pic... -=chuckle=- but, who told you that? an inspector? i believe it could be considered 'grandfathered' in at that location, especially if it's gas.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 04:46 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 49
Default

stove code


not an inspector, but the would be " so called construction person purchaser"
it's electric, the house is about 26 years old, and i think you are right about the grandfather clause, but im not positive.
christoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 04:59 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

stove code


in that position, i'd have to agree it COULD be a safety hazard, IF someone did not use common sense and left a pot handle hanging to the left.
from that pic though, it seems it's location is limited to there unless you do some MAJOR cab moving, and hood moving, and you'd lose that countertop, of course.... ummmmmm, maybe take the stove out of the deal? remove it and say it was broken and reduce the price accordingly and let the new owners decide where/how they would like it? hmm, now what do we do with this elec. range?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
code details for boxes kama Electrical 6 01-30-2009 10:25 AM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM
Coal Stove Hood Devil505 HVAC 1 12-06-2006 05:32 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.