Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-16-2008, 02:34 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Stairwell. Right forum?

Hello, I'm new to any of this format, and I'm hoping someone here can steer me in the right direction. I'm in need of some kind of formula to figure out the right configuration for a stairwell that will use as little of the upper floor sq. footage as possible.......and still get a queen box spring up to the bedroom. Am I even on the right forum?
I've looked all over the internet for a couple of months now, actually that's how I found this site, but have had no success; and my husband is breathing down my neck to make a decision about the walls - which will
all depend on the stairs, of course. I'm looking forward to any input any of you can offer. Thank you so much.

barbryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 03:47 PM   #2

Stairwell. Right forum?

If you're concerned about the box springs not fitting, you could always use the spit type, the matress is squishy enough to crunch through just about any hole. Otherwise measure the foot print and go from there.

How 'bout making a cardboard template and see if it works for you....not sure anyone here can give you the specifics you're asking for. There are other measurements you must work with such as landing sizes, head clearance, step depth and height that most people have to worry about before building.

Old 10-16-2008, 04:04 PM   #3

Stairwell. Right forum?