Sprinklers?! - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2011, 03:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

sprinklers?!


So I want to put on an addition and they are telling me I have to install a sprinkler system in the house now... I knew it was going to be part of the 2011 code, but sheesh I have to do the whole house for an addition? I can't even begin to think of how that would work... their is no attic space to put a tank... *rips out hair* are the code people way off in thinking the whole house has to be upgraded due to an addition?...

Advertisement

BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 04:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

sprinklers?!


I'm not sure of your local code
But around here a 25% improvement can trigger requirements for certain parts of the house to be brought up to code
Number 1 that I had to do at my old house was install hard wired smokes
Despite the fact I was only putting a new roof on with more attic space - fold down stairs

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 04:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

sprinklers?!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I'm not sure of your local code
But around here a 25% improvement can trigger requirements for certain parts of the house to be brought up to code
Number 1 that I had to do at my old house was install hard wired smokes
Despite the fact I was only putting a new roof on with more attic space - fold down stairs
ugh the house isn't that old even... to install sprinkers we'd probably have to rip down a good bit of drywall, make an attic! i dont even want to know how since its a 1 and 1/2 story house with a cathedral ceiling, so there is littearly no attic.... and possibly have pipes exposed.... sometimes i wish code would stay grandfathered and only apply to the new part
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 12:22 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

sprinklers?!


Sprinkler requirements came out in the 2009 residential code. But it doesn't require it for remodels or additions, only for new homes. And that's if the city has adopted the 2009 code.......Around here it has been so controversial no one has adopted it and we're all stuck with the 2006 IRC or earlier.

Are you in a regular single family home with a yard and space between you and your neighbors, or is it a row home, town home, etc?

I'd have a serious sit-down with the City and ask to see the code requirement they're citing. They may have one, or may have amended the code they adopted to be more strict. That is insane....And I'm a code official.

That being said, these systems do not require a tank. They are supplied by the potable water supply system of the home.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 12:25 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

sprinklers?!


And forcing you to sprinkle portions of the home that are not involved in the proposed scope of work is even more insane. I'd ask to see their written code that supports the call. Normally unaffected areas are grandfathered by reasonable codes officials.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Termite For This Useful Post:
Thurman (01-06-2011)
Old 01-06-2011, 12:52 AM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

sprinklers?!


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
That being said, these systems do not require a tank. They are supplied by the potable water supply system of the home.
sorry to hijack Blue but I just have to ask termite:

what about a house with a private well? Loss of power obviously equals loss of sprinkler in such a situation. Are they just gambling the power will be on long enough to do some good?

and it sure seems like an average well would not provide enough water to do any good if more than just a couple head pop.

.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:15 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

sprinklers?!


I have a feeling at this point our inspector is being a little over excited about the new rules... found out we have not enacted them yet from someone else... and I don't know where they are getting the tank in the attic but he was pretty set on that is the "code"... i need to get a copy of the new code..

Advertisement

BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anoying sound in house water pipes when sprinklers are ON gante Plumbing 1 06-07-2010 07:04 AM
Installing Sprinklers appear to have caused Water Pressure to DRASTICALLY increase geminigirl Plumbing 3 11-12-2009 01:04 PM
Should I Do Sprinklers + Drip System? jbk Landscaping & Lawn Care 5 02-12-2009 07:48 PM
Help, 16 sprinklers 14 work, 2 don't kimbur96 Landscaping & Lawn Care 5 11-09-2008 07:22 AM
Sprinklers...replace or not? kimbur96 Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 11-07-2008 08:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts