Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-01-2010, 12:32 PM   #1

Share |

Some questions about a concrete slab

Well we need to pour a small concrete pad (prob around 8x10) to put a shed on. I just have a couple questions since I have never done this before. Do I need rebar or would some sreen type stuff do the job? Is 4'' a good thickness for the slab? Any my last question is what should I look for when buying the bags of mix? Or would I be better off having a small concrete truck deliver some ready to go stuff? Thanks!

lt1tyrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 01:12 PM   #2

for an 8x10 shed you'd be fine with just mesh, it all depends though on the type of shed or weight youll be putting on it. i would use rebar if it was me. and as far as concrete 3 1/2 is typical for a concrete pad
with your dimentions your looking at about a yard or concrete 4" (.33)x 8x10=26.4 divided by 27= .9777 which is equal to a yard. a truck would be more expensive than you mixing bags yourself, waay more expensive, but it would save you alot of time and backbreaking labor. hope this helps!

arty007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 01:31 PM   #3

Ok thanks I will probably just mix up the bag stuff. Can you give me some tips for a simple rebar layout? I dont want to under/over do it. What size and what kind of spacing should I do? Thanks again.
Old 07-01-2010, 02:35 PM   #4

number 4 rebar equal to 1/2 inch diameter, you can go 16 iches on center or 2 ft on center (both directions) would be sufficient. good luck !
Old 07-01-2010, 10:48 PM   #5