Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-12-2011, 05:35 PM   #1
gnu

Share |

slab on grade?

Hi, I am attempting to gather infromation for a woman on a fixed income hoping to build a small home, maybe 700-900 square feet, depending on the local zoning. It will be located outside the Guelph area in Ontario.

I am new to new construction but was wondeirng, in order to cut costs, is slab on grade feasible? Are the saving at the front end going to cause more expense later if the ground heaves or is that not a concern? I am not positive of the soil condtion. Is there anything else I should be concerned with?

As this is my first post and I am in the prliminariesof gathering all info I can for her I was wondering if ayone is aware of any other sights that might be of use.

Thanks

gnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 05:38 PM   #2
Tileguy

slab on grade?

So what do your soil sample reports say?

Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 09:54 PM   #3
Residential Designer

Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump

slab on grade?

Hi gnu and welcome to the forum.
Sounds like an honorable thing you are doing for her. Wow though, where to start?
There are innumerable things to know about starting a ground-up construction. You need to start with finding a professional in your area I think to help you find a proper plan for this. A designer or Architect that will be sympathetic to her plight perhaps?

Your local Building Department might be a good place to start in locating someone.

To answer your question though I believe there are techniques for pouring slab-on-grade without digging to the frost line.

Sorry, not much help I know.

Andy.
AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 10:45 PM   #4
gnu

slab on grade?