Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-17-2009, 03:58 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Sill Plate Question

Howdy my name is Colby,

I'm a College Student who is currently studying Building Construction Technology. Anyways my class is currently working on this family housing unit at our college. This housing unit isn't in great shape but I'm pretty sure it can be fixed. Anyways the sub floor is rotted out because the of water damage, we think that a pipe under the floor got a leak and because residents who live in the family housing units don't pay a water bill for some reason, no one noticed for a while ( when we talked about how long it was exposed to water or moisture in class we came up with the estimate of 1-2 years exposure time). Some floor joists need to be replaced. But whats really got me in a pickle is I think the sill plate needs to be replaced but I'm unsure how I should go about it. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Colby

Last edited by Colby; 02-17-2009 at 04:06 AM. Reason: Wanted to provide more detail on the problem
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 06:00 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Sill Plate Question

you need to get access to view the damage. An rotted material should be removed. If a section is to be replaced it can be cut out with a sawsall and a new piece of pressure treated lumber can be used. jacks are used to relieve the pressure for this replacement. If the damage is minor, remove the bad parts and use wood epoxy to repair it so the rot will not continue to effect surrounding wood fibers.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 07:22 AM   #3

Smile

Sill Plate Question