Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-16-2013, 11:10 AM   #1

Share |

Shed roof pitch question

Hi - I'm new to shed building, and I'm building a 9x12 storage shed with a shed roof. Roof will be metal on top of 5/8 plywood. Rafters are 2x8, spaced 12" oc. Ridge plate and lower plates are 4x6 doug fir. The ridge and lower plates run along the 12foot side of the shed. The shed will be in central WA, where we can get up to 2+ feet of snow (not usually very high water content) at a time on occasion. The shed is positioned so any snow can slough off safely.

My question is regarding roof pitch. Can I get away with a 4/12 pitch (actually 4.25/12)? As the project stands now, I can attain a 5/12 pitch but this would require some deconstruction and reconstruction.

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by Kevin P.; 05-17-2013 at 10:36 AM. Reason: clarification
Kevin P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:50 PM   #2

Shed roof pitch question

Welcome to the Forum!

the more the pitch the better for removal of snow ..... can I ask why 9', gonna waste some building materials that way

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 09:28 PM   #3

Shed roof pitch question

What you have should be fine, especially since you're using metal roofing, which has a low coefficient of friction. But as GB said, the more slope, the better, especially in areas where you get that much snow.
Msradell is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Msradell For This Useful Post:
Kevin P. (05-17-2013)
Old 05-17-2013, 08:07 AM   #4

Shed roof pitch question