Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-21-2013, 03:47 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Shed Project

Okay, so I'm new to the chatroom and relatively new to DIY in general. I've built a large deck, resided a house in cedar clapboards, but very little actual construction. I'm going to take on a large shed/out building.

I know enough to get myself deeply in trouble I think but that's part of the fun. I've been doing a ton of research on contruction methods and looking at a lot of the pre-made sheds that you can have delivered. But many questions and contradictions remain.

Here's some of my starting specs:

I want to build a 12 x 24 shed, 10 in 12 pitch, I live in CT, so snow is a consideration.

If I check 3 of the local companies who sell these small buildings, they use only 2x4 construction with no rafter ties, but they do use collar ties, and no ridge beams. And my town approves this construction.

Yet everywhere I read up on this, everyone recommends building well above these specs.

So is it a case of the small building companies are only building to the minimum codes will permit and if I really want a shed to last then I should build bigger...?

Chip

Chip182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 03:58 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 3,370

Shed Project

It does not have to be bigger just better.
It's common to see garages and shed built with 2 X 4's Plenty strong enough, in fact whole homes have been built with nothing but 2 X 4's for a hundred years or more.
Only reason to go with 2 X 6's is so you can fit more insulation in the walls.
A ridge beam and collar ties will also help to keep the walls from spreading and the roof from sagging.

Old 10-21-2013, 04:29 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,022

Shed Project

a ridge beam or rafter ties are required to prevent the weight of the roof from pushing out the tops of the load bearing walls.