Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-26-2012, 12:37 AM   #1

Share |

Seeking AZEK Decking Project suggestions

I'm replacing my 20 year old Redwood decking with AZEK Silver Oak on joists 12" oc on two small decks. I have a few minor questions and I would sure welcome any input or suggestions on anything anyone can think of after reviewing my plans below. I do have experience in construction, although it's been 30 years since I was a General Contractor. A small General Contractor where I did the actual carpentry, roofing, electrical, etc.

Sorry for the small text but these photos were resized in Picasa 3 for this site. My originals are in a web album I've shared with family and friends on all my substructure work to this point. You can always use whatever the method is in your browser to increase magnification (in Chrome it's Ctrl + - be sure to count how many +'s you hit so you can use Ctrl - to reduce back to your original magnification). I'll be starting the decking on the small deck this weekend, at the latest. That one will be a snap.

Seeking AZEK Decking Project suggestions-decks.jpg

It's a one joist depth step from small deck to bigger deck. The small deck is about 1/4" below surface of cool deck.

Seeking AZEK Decking Project suggestions-subsctructure.jpg

Seeking AZEK Decking Project suggestions-details.jpg

I do have to say drawing up a plan in AutoCAD sure does help in calculating material needed. And at the price AZEK decking costs it is well worth it.

I was very fortunate when they delivered my decking material. They had to substitute 8 of my 16'ers with 20's. With the extra I re-worked my usage scenario and came up with the following to minimize waste and I still think I'll have two extra 12'ers.

Seeking AZEK Decking Project suggestions-schedule.jpg