Screwing Steel Studs The Hard Way - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-27-2013, 02:44 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 250

Screwing steel studs the hard way

I'm extending a closet and this is my first time working with steel studs and drywall. I never saw this done before, but I think I'll screw in the studs from the inside of the frame so the drywall will be flush against the studs instead of on the screw heads. Do all of you guys have ratchets or stubby screwdrivers so you'd be able to unscrew something like this if you had to?
Attached Thumbnails
Screwing steel studs the hard way-closet-extension-frame-annotated.jpg  

Advertisement

Dorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 03:01 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 508

From what I see, looks like you have the correct steel stud screws. They have a really small head and if you went from the other direction like you propose, they would stick out further then going the correct way.

I have worked union carpenter from time to time, is all commercial and metal studs, I prefer residential.
But no, you screw from the outside and not from the inside, unless that is the only way you can get to it, and then you usually need to add a extension which you would carry with you in your tool belt for that purpose. But is not preferred.

The sheet rock will lay flat on the heads of the screws and you will not notice.

Advertisement

Old 04-27-2013, 05:04 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 10

You take the self tapping framing screw out before you hang drywall.
garywade78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 05:38 PM   #4

You take the self tapping framing screw out before you hang drywall.

You mean after they are welded?
I never heard of such a thing as screwing together the framing and then removing the screws later.