Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-12-2009, 08:45 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Screwing Cementious Wallboard

Will be putting up some of this stuff as a tile backer around a tub. Any tips on: 1) cutting it 2) screwing it or otherwise attaching to wall- do I use regular black wallboard screws or go with galvanized deck screws? 3) will the little wallboard thing you can put at the end of a drill to properly set screws work with cementboard?

smata67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 09:06 PM   #2

They sell special cement board screws. Use those. A regular drill with a phillips tip will work fine.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:39 AM   #3

Disclaimer: I'm not a pro.

I just did a shower surround with CBU, and was my first time installing it - onto metal studs, but a couple things I learned:
- Cutting: my circular saw did well with a special carbide blade attached... DONT try to use a regular blade, will spark and probably ruin your saw. BUT, it creates a massive amount of dust, so do well away from the house outside with a mask and goggles. Also, I found that a utility knife w/ carbide blade worked better, just a little slower. I bought a carbide tipped 1 1/4" circle hole cutter bit for my 12 volt cordless drill, and that worked real well for getting the shower head and handle fixture holes cut.
- Mounting on the wall: like Ron said, they sell special screws for Hardibacker/Durock. In my mind, worth the extra couple bucks because I was worried about water/rust. Be sure to spread a separate coat of thinset over them.