Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-10-2013, 04:33 PM   #1

Share |
Question

School Project - NEED HELP!

Hello!
I am look for help from a commercial contractor. I am a student at a local business school currently working on my last quarter. For a class project, I have to write a proposal for creating a new campus for our school. It's a large project that I'm just getting started on. I've picked out a retail location that is 30,000 square feet.

What the project entails:
• Tear down of a 30,000 sq ft retail building
• Constructing a 30,000 sq ft, multi-level office building

The information that I'm looking for is:
• cost of materials & labor
• timetable/timeline
• staffing
• basic plan of action

I understand that I'm asking you to provide a lot of information without receiving anything in return for it. Any information that you could provide would be extremely helpful.

Thank you,
Angela

acourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 05:29 PM   #2
Roofmaster

Hi Courtney,

Way too vague. You need an Architect to get involved to do a schematic design of the type and purpose of the intended building. 30,000 square feet is not very big for a multi story building ie 10K per floor? Were I you, I would go to a local architectural firm, they might have an intern help you with your project.

Good Luck to You.

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jagans For This Useful Post:
acourtney (05-11-2013)
Old 05-10-2013, 05:51 PM   #3

Welcome to the Forum Angela!

as Mr. Jagan said way too vague. Construction costs are typically location based, in other words what it costs to build in Boston is not the same as building in Ocala, Florida. It also depends on the Use Group, type of construction and local code requirements.