Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-15-2012, 10:16 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

ryobi battery

my lithium 18v batteries are showing defective per charger lights flashing green , red. these batteries are only 6 months old and have only been charged 4 or 5 times. Is this a usual problem or am I just an unfortunate recipient of a bad product? any helpful hints appreciated!

wileyjack13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:28 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,548

ryobi battery

idk. i have the NiCad batteries in mine. works well enough for me.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:35 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 4,152

ryobi battery

I've been using Ryobi tools for over 5 years and have never had an issue with them.

At one time I had at least 8 batterys, (because I had three jobs going at once) When I buy them I mark the day I buy them and my company name on them with a sharpe just to see how long they lasted. In 5 years I've only had 2 go bad from 5 day a week use.
Some reasons I've seen them not charge is dirty contacts. Clean them off with a pencil eraser. Sand paper will take the plating off the contact.
Trying to charge a hot battery. If you set the charger in the sun, try to charge a battery that's still hot from being used, charging one that been sitting in the sun.
The chargers stop working when they hit a certain temperature so it does not over charge.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 12:42 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 1,000

ryobi battery

we had a problem with some ryobi batteries that wouldn't charge completely once. we put them in the flashlight and left it on all night to completely discharge them then put them in the charger the next day and they took a full charge.
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 03:55 PM   #5

Rewards Points: 250

ryobi battery