Rotted Exterior Wall Corner And Clapboard Siding Repair - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-31-2012, 04:56 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Rotted Exterior Wall Corner and Clapboard Siding Repair

Hello, I'm a newbie to DIY. I got in over my head by buying a large three-story Victorian house which hadn't been lived in for a long time. I cut back some vines to expose rotted clapboards in a structural corner. This is also from water damage from a broken drainspout pouring water onto and into the house. We've since moved the drainspout away from that corner. It seems to me there are three basic issues: bolstering structural integrity of the exterior walls in case some have rotted, clapboard replacement and end cap repair.

I'm going to try to do some of this myself for economic reasons, possibly the clapboard and endcap repair. A workman has looked at the inside and said two studs near the corner were rotted which he replaced by pushing in some new wood one stud at a time. We haven't jacked up the house.

Then there's the exterior clapboard repair. I don't even know the safest way to get up to access the hole in the clapboard over the porch roof. That's approximately the second floor level. Ladder? Scaffolding? I still wouldn't be close enough to do it without getting onto the porch roof I don't think. I wouldn't want to sit on that roof. Would you suggest reinforcing it with a lally column while I'm working up there?