Room Addition Connection To Existing House? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2011, 10:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Room addition connection to existing house?


I have built stand-alone garages and workshops from foundation to roof and all in-between. Also whole house interior remodels. Not saying I am an expert, but do have some experience. Several projects done with excellent help from the great folks on this forum.

Next project is a master bedroom suite addition to our house. House is 30'x60' rectangular, on monolithic slab foundation, standard 8' 2x4 framing, and trusses for the roof. Addition will be 24'x30' (or so) coming off the back at one end - creating an L shaped house when all is done. Foundation, framing, sided and roofed to match existing, etc. Ground is pretty level. So all in all, about as simple an addition project as they come.

My questions are about what I have not done before - tying the new construction to the existing. As for the new framing to existing framing, a few simpson metal straps - correct? As for the slab foundation new to the old - what, if anything should be done there?

I plan to hire a designer to create a set of buildable plans to work from, permitting purposes, etc. Looking to be knowing so when entering into discussions of these details with prospective designers.

Thanks!

Advertisement

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 01:33 AM   #2
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,317
Rewards Points: 550
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

Room addition connection to existing house?


Hi sheets, I see yo are in So. Cal. You will be requiring more than just a few straps of course, but you know that.
The new and existing foundations have to be tied into each other usually by re-bar drilled into exist. and epoxied, 24" O.C. 3000 PSI conc. etc.
Just remember you have to have the California Energy Standards calcs. also.
Where are you if I may ask?

Andy.

Advertisement

AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 03:00 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Room addition connection to existing house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyGump View Post
Hi sheets, I see yo are in So. Cal. You will be requiring more than just a few straps of course, but you know that.
The new and existing foundations have to be tied into each other usually by re-bar drilled into exist. and epoxied, 24" O.C. 3000 PSI conc. etc.
Just remember you have to have the California Energy Standards calcs. also.
Where are you if I may ask?

Andy.
Hi Andy,

I am in Escondido. Yes, as I understand will need the California Energy Standards calcs accomplished.

Thanks for the info on the slab connections - I figured something like that was needed.

Yeah, I realize that more than just a few straps are needed - I built a good sized workshop on the property and went through seismic requirements - shear walls with the proper nails and nailing pattern, tieing the building to the foundation, etc. Don't ask me about the six $90/each holes I had to buy in the foundation due to errors in the plans (plus my inexperience that did not catch the error...)

Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 12:50 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,977
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Room addition connection to existing house?


Just to add, you may need additional seismic hold-downs in the remaining side sections of the end wall if you open it up with a beam. Your S.E. will call it out on the plans, look for it. Many times we only need to add shear plywood to remaining walls then cover with drywall. Hate to see you rent a roto-hammer again for more holes in concrete......

We love pictures...

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 10:29 AM   #5
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,795
Rewards Points: 2,142
Default

Room addition connection to existing house?


All I can add is allow sufficient time & money to install the epoxied rebar into the existing slab. If you've never done it before, it's more complex than just drilling & hammering dowels in place. The hole cleaning process takes a while, the epoxy & accessories are expensive, etc...

Good luck!
jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 10:43 AM   #6
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,317
Rewards Points: 550
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

Room addition connection to existing house?


You really do at the least need a plan to go by, get permits take your time and if you are stuck on what to do at some point, come here.

Andy.
AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 03:52 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Room addition connection to existing house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jomama45
All I can add is allow sufficient time & money to install the epoxied rebar into the existing slab. If you've never done it before, it's more complex than just drilling & hammering dowels in place. The hole cleaning process takes a while, the epoxy & accessories are expensive, etc...

Good luck!
I have done the epoxy process - hole cleaning, correct insertion, etc. Thanks!
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 03:56 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Room addition connection to existing house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyGump
You really do at the least need a plan to go by, get permits take your time and if you are stuck on what to do at some point, come here.

Andy.
Yup - I am speaking with designers at this time towards a set of build-able plans, calcs, etc towards getting permitted. Thanks!

Advertisement

__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laundry Room Addition Completed hyunelan2 Project Showcase 6 02-27-2011 11:42 PM
Addition receiving water in lower room (hi res pics).... Alex D Building & Construction 3 05-01-2010 05:34 PM
2nd floor addition to existing garage AndyFromTarpon Building & Construction 1 08-09-2009 12:31 PM
!!HELP!! Rain leaking between existing home and new addition NJGirl357 Roofing/Siding 4 09-10-2008 06:06 PM
Load calcs for room addition Jim Tyson HVAC 1 02-23-2006 06:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts