Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-11-2011, 08:03 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

River rock for concrete base???

We are getting estimates to replace a landscaped area that is currently filled with the round river rock, with a concrete patio slab. The last contractor wanted to reuse the river rock for a base. I'm not a concrete pro, but I don't think that reusing the river rock sounds like a good idea. I thought you wanted a base that would compact nicely - and I don't see how these somewhat rounded rocks, will be able to be compacted.

The contractor has done almost every drive and patio on the street and his work looks good... but I'm skeptical of this proposal. Live in Mid Indiana...

snkyfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 09:11 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

Which river did the rock come from?

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 09:20 AM   #3

Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Rewards Points: 2,126

Rounded river rock will not really compact as well as better aggregates because it is "too clean" It might be cheaper to use, but is not as good as compactable and there are not enough angular particles. Obviously, an excess of fines in the base is not good.

Dick
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to concretemasonry For This Useful Post:
snkyfox (09-11-2011)
Old 09-11-2011, 11:39 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 150