Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2013, 03:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Share |
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


Hi all,

My father in-law came to visit and we started talking about adding to the current slab. I'm very handy and love construction but have never done cement work. I want to know from the more experienced members if this is the right way of doing it and if it will last. I know it's a little late. The rebar is 1/2 inch and about every 18 inches epoxied into the home's foundation and the sides of the existing slab. The thickness is about 5 to 6 inches and it was compacted before the pour. Tell me what ya'll think.







And here is the finished product.


flyboylr45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,321
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


I never would have attacted the slab to the house.
A slab will move up and down a house foundation should not.
There should have just been an expantion gap between the house and the slab.
I've never even seen rebar used in a slab extention like that.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:06 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


Agree. For a patio no need for rebar. Maybe for a garage floor. It also should not have been attached to the house foundation.
You didn't post your location so If you live in an area that does not have frost then you might be OK.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


I'm in Florida. All the stuff I read mentioned attaching it to the foundation. What would be the trouble by doing it this way? Just trying to learn.
flyboylr45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


In fact, my mom had sort of the same thing done in her house and the inspector said it had to be done.
flyboylr45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,321
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


Please go back and add your location to your profile.
Simple as going to Quick links and edit.
Even in a garage slab it's only needed on the outside in the footing.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


The system won't let me edit my details. So is the rebar hurting anything? What is the problem with attaching it to the foundation?
flyboylr45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:06 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,227
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


It doesn't matter now......while not needed, it doesn't hurt to put in rebar there....

I personally think you did a nice job....and the extra patio slab looks like it really helps...
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:18 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


Thanks...
flyboylr45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:22 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


Sorry, trying to get my post count up as well. If I were to decide to finish the other side, should I just do the same thing or not tie it into the house? In the near future, we are going to put a pool in. Is there going to be a problem tying these slabs together? What if I decide to put a cover on the patio?
flyboylr45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 06:51 PM   #11
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,602
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


Great Job. The rebar is probably overkill for a slab on grade, and it should be about 1/3 from the bottom, but the job looks great. I personally like a sponge float finish, but thats personal. Pinning to the foundation is probably fine in FL. Did you tap the forms to get rid of honeycombs and edge it?

Wet it down three times a day for a couple of weeks.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:33 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


Thanks!! I did and we are still wetting it. The reason we did the broom finish was to match the existing slab.
flyboylr45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 09:18 PM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


The rebar in the slab is not a problem just extra expense that is not really needed. The main problem if you are in a frost area is the attachment to the house. The sidewalk will raise and lower with winter frost. I have seen walls lifted an inch when the sidewalk was attached to the wall.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 09:25 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific North west
Posts: 1,245
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


I am just amazed at how you got the cement to be upside down like that.
Don't fret about it did a great job adding rebar never hurts. Only helps.

Last edited by Nailbags; 03-29-2013 at 09:28 PM.
Nailbags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 03:15 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Is this the right way of doing it??


Lol lol. Thanks.

flyboylr45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.