Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2010, 07:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Ridge Beam


I have a studio on my property, the main living space is appox 20x12, built in the 50's all redwood 2x4 construction. I want to convert the flat ceiling to a vaulted ceiling. I was told I could put a larger ridge beam(4x4 or 4x6) underneath the current ridge beam(2x4), the span is 12ft I'd support it with doubled up 2x4s. I plan on leaving the 2x4 rafters alone. Any issues with this?

mikec205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 09:50 AM   #2
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Ridge Beam


I'd be talking to a structural engineer, the building inspector or an experienced carpenter during an on-site visit to the studio.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Go ahead and apply for a variance, those guys at City Hall can use a good laugh.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jlhaslip For This Useful Post:
BigJim (10-16-2010)
Old 10-16-2010, 12:32 PM   #3
STRUCTURAL
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Ridge Beam


The ridge beam needs to be made out of two 9.5" LVL's for this span. Alternatively you can install 2x4 collar ties between rafters located below ridge at 1/3 the height from ridge to current ceiling.
________________________________________________
CHM Consultants Engineers
404-664-4989

infoCHM@Gmail.com
________________________________________________
ENGINEER10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 12:33 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Ridge Beam


Don't buy the wood yet, the 4x6 may work as a post, maybe too small. You really need to get this engineered and permitted for a paper trail for your H.O.Insurance carrier in case of a claim or re-sale later as you will be liable, possibly years afterward. The ridge attachment alone requires a S.E. as well as the post size, beam size, and new bearing footings on the earth. As a carpenter with 37 years experience, I wouldn't want the liability involved, legally or morally. An on-site inspection and consultation may be needed, call around.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 03:37 PM   #5
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,203
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Ridge Beam


Terminology. What you have is a ridge board, NOT a ridge beam. A ridge board is a framing member installed to allow the carpenter to have something to nail the rafters to. A ridge board provides no structural support to the roof.

A ridge beam is a structural element designed to hold up half the roof. It requires at a minimum adequate vertical supports (posts) on either end, although it may be designed with intermediate posts. It is common to replace a ridge board with an engineered ridge beam when the client wants a vaulted ceiling. The rafters must be properly connected to the ridge beam, which typically requires metal connectors (see Simpson catalog).

Assuming you replace the ridge board with a ridge beam, you need to temporarily support the rafters during the operation, which requires an experienced framing contractor. Typically the rafters have to be cut and fitted with the appropriate connector, then connected to the newly installed ridge beam.

The plan you asked about suggests that you are intending to support the ridge board with an engineered ridge beam, leaving the connections between the rafters and the ridge board in place. I have never seen this done, perhaps someone on this forum with first hand experience can comment. If this is done, you would need to check that the connections between the rafters and the ridge board work correctly, given the presence of a ridge beam below the ridge board.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ridge beam crowning canuck88 Roofing/Siding 4 06-30-2010 10:04 AM
New ridge beam support needed for cathedral ceiling? zachalyse Building & Construction 12 06-06-2010 07:06 PM
gap between ridge beam and ridge board mdudu Building & Construction 6 05-07-2010 08:46 PM
Condensation on my ridge beam... D-Hoggs Roofing/Siding 4 03-22-2010 03:48 PM
Rafter to ridge beam height JESSBRA2 Building & Construction 1 10-20-2008 03:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.