Retrofitting Double Top Plate - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-30-2011, 11:58 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Retrofitting Double Top Plate

Hi All,

First time posting here, and I'm taking on the project of converting a 10'x20' outbuilding on my property into an office. The first problem I've encountered is that there is no double top plate on the walls. I know this is required to meet code, and it makes common sense for strength. However, the part of me that has no experience with framing, especially a roof, doesn't want to rip perfectly good trusses all the way off, and have to go about re-installing them, which I've never done before.

My question is: Is there any way to "jack up" the trusses and slip a top plate on? Maybe one side at a time? Would it be more or less hassle than pulling the trusses off and starting over?

Thanks in advance,

Steve

Advertisement

SRedinbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:05 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 274

Can you elaborate a little? Picture? Why the concern about the top plate?

Advertisement

Tizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:59 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,000

Are the trusses directly over the wall studs?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:56 PM   #4

Ask, and you shall receive! Sorry for the low-quality of the pics, they're the product of a poor photographer using poor equipment.

Ron, excellent question! I hadn't noticed before, but it appears that the trusses are all located directly over the studs, or pretty close. Does this mean I don't need a double top plate? I know the double plate helps absorb the vertical load, but is it needed for shear force, as well?