Retrofitting Double Top Plate - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2011, 11:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Retrofitting Double Top Plate


Hi All,

First time posting here, and I'm taking on the project of converting a 10'x20' outbuilding on my property into an office. The first problem I've encountered is that there is no double top plate on the walls. I know this is required to meet code, and it makes common sense for strength. However, the part of me that has no experience with framing, especially a roof, doesn't want to rip perfectly good trusses all the way off, and have to go about re-installing them, which I've never done before.

My question is: Is there any way to "jack up" the trusses and slip a top plate on? Maybe one side at a time? Would it be more or less hassle than pulling the trusses off and starting over?

Thanks in advance,

Steve

Advertisement

SRedinbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Tizzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Richmond Va.
Posts: 324
Rewards Points: 274
Default

Retrofitting Double Top Plate


Can you elaborate a little? Picture? Why the concern about the top plate?

Advertisement

Tizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Retrofitting Double Top Plate


Are the trusses directly over the wall studs?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Retrofitting Double Top Plate


Ask, and you shall receive! Sorry for the low-quality of the pics, they're the product of a poor photographer using poor equipment.

Ron, excellent question! I hadn't noticed before, but it appears that the trusses are all located directly over the studs, or pretty close. Does this mean I don't need a double top plate? I know the double plate helps absorb the vertical load, but is it needed for shear force, as well?

This building was built in 1967, and the studs and trusses are all 24' on center. This being the case, I assumed that a good top plate was even more critical.
Attached Thumbnails
Retrofitting Double Top Plate-p5010391_web.jpg   Retrofitting Double Top Plate-p5010392_web.jpg   Retrofitting Double Top Plate-p5010393_web.jpg  
SRedinbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 10:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Retrofitting Double Top Plate


Didn't this structure require a permit, get inspected and have a C of O?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 10:34 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Retrofitting Double Top Plate


Yes, permit was issued in '67, but no C of O since it's original use was a shed. Drywall and electric was installed at a later date, obviously without a permit.
SRedinbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 10:48 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Retrofitting Double Top Plate


If it passed inspection, I wouldn't concern myself with structural adjustments.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 11:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Retrofitting Double Top Plate


Are you pulling a permit for the conversion to office space? Do you need to do so? If doing this with a permit, then suggest to consult with the building dept. regarding the top plate.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 12:31 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,993
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Retrofitting Double Top Plate


Single is fine if it meets the requirements. It’s been that way since I started framing in 1973, though I’ve always used a double;

“R602.3.2 Top plate. Wood stud walls shall be capped with a double top plate installed to provide overlapping at corners and intersections with bearing partitions. End joints in top plates shall be offset at least 24 inches (610 mm). Joints in plates need not occur over studs. Plates shall be not less than 2-inches (51 mm) nominal thickness and have a width at least equal to the width of the studs.

Exception: A single top plate may be installed in stud walls, provided the plate is adequately tied at joints, corners and intersecting walls by a minimum 3-inch-by- 6-inch by a 0.036-inch-thick (76 mm by 152 mm by 0.914 mm) galvanized steel plate that is nailed to each wall or segment of wall by six 8d nails on each side, provided the rafters or joists are centered over the studs with a tolerance of no more than 1 inch (25 mm). The top plate may be omitted over lintels that are adequately tied to adjacent wall sections with steel plates or equivalent as previously described.”

http://publicecodes.citation.com/ico...002_par007.htm


I would get a permit, if required. The rafter heel cuts have gaps, add shims and a positive connection; pp.38, http://books.google.com/books?id=iwS...rafter&f=false


Gary

Advertisement

__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double top plate not overlapped at corner Tony-B Building & Construction 0 07-31-2010 05:24 PM
Replacing Section of Sole Plate RM575 Carpentry 3 03-28-2010 10:31 AM
Double sole plate how-to? HooKooDooKu Building & Construction 19 03-24-2010 02:43 AM
Triple Top Plate or Double Stills? HooKooDooKu Building & Construction 6 12-29-2009 08:18 PM
Reinforcing notched double top plate pmoe Building & Construction 28 01-24-2009 11:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts