Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-09-2007, 09:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Replacing Wall in Garage

We just bought our first home, which is a 1950s rambler that has been renovated several times by some less-than-professional DIYers. I have many projects to undertake, many of which I will probably contract with professionals. However, I'd like to save some money and try to undertake some projects where I think I could do a reasonable job and save some money. I'm new to the DIY world, but I'm not afraid to get into the books and learn.

The background for my project: We have a carport, which has actually been renovated such that it is enclosed on three sides -- essentially a garage now without the front garage door. The back wall of the "garage" is a common wall with my office inside the house. This common wall looks very shoddy to me. Not only is it ugly looking, I'm pretty sure that it is very poorly insulated since my office is several degrees warmer than everywhere else in my house. I'd like to replace/renovate this wall so it looks better, and maybe provides a bit better insulation to my adjoining office. The wall is probably around 10 feet high and 16 feet across.

My questions:

(1) Is this the type of project that a novice DIYer can undertake, or is it better to leave something like this to the experts?

(2) Even if doable, is the project so messy or tedious that you think it is worth the money to bring in a contractor?

(3) Assuming this is something that is doable, can I use drywall in the garage, which is not completely enclosed on four sides? Or will the exposure to the elements require a different material for the wall?

Looking back on my post I see that I've been a little verbose here. I apologize for that, but I'd certainly appreciate any thoughts on the matter.

Many thanks!

viking1974 is offline   Reply With Quote