Replacing Old Basement Stairway And Meeting Codes - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2011, 01:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replacing old basement stairway and meeting codes


I just bought an old home (1920) which of course has many items that do not meet today's code.

I'm planning on "finishing" some basement rooms, and would like to replace the old basement steps which are literally falling apart.

Of course, if I do so, there is no way the new staircase can meet code. Here are my problems:
1) Without moving a structural wall, the maximum width I can achieve is 33", not 36" (code).
2) Current stairs have a rise of 8" and a run of 8". I can get the stairs to be 8" rise and 10" run, but this will then make the clearance at the 5th step only 73", where a main floor joist runs under the remaining stairs up to the second story.

Question: should I...
a) Pull a permit (especially noting that I would be doing more work in basement) and try to convince an inspector that I'm improving the stairwell but that their are severe impediments to ever making code.
b) not pull a permit and hope its never an issue.
c) not replace the stairway (which in addition to not meeting code and falling apart, does not even have risers, only treads).

Is there an leniency when dealing with old homes?

Advertisement

lovebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 05:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Freeport Maine
Posts: 484
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacing old basement stairway and meeting codes


I also have an old home with many "details" that do not meet current code, including my basement stairs. I have some plans for the house which include changes to the stairs, but I have not gotten to that project yet...

A lot depends on your local municipality. What i have been told by our inspector is that with an old house where existing does not meet code, you can replace like with like. For example, I need to replace my porch railings (porch is about 32" above grade.) and the original railings were only about 24" high. Because of the existing column detailing, installing 36" high railings would make it look terrible. He tells me that as long as I am going to replace existing, in place railings, I can stay with the original height.

Advertisement

1910NE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
basement , code , remodel , stairs


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts