Replacing Lathe And Plaster - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2006, 09:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

replacing lathe and plaster


I have an old house..living room is lathe and plaster..
would like to drywall..

would it be better to totally demo the old walls....and put up drywall?..
5/8"..?

or try to get by with 3/8 over the lathe

Advertisement

eager2lern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 09:55 PM   #2
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

replacing lathe and plaster


In lath and plaster construction, the baseboards and door trims were put up before the lath and plaster. Whatever you do for wall finish material needs to result in the same net thickness as the lath and plaster was so that it will fall at the same place on the trim and look right.

Tearing off the plaster only will give you a nice flat surface on top of the lath to hang 3/8". This is a very typical route. If you tear off the lath as well, you might run into problems. The old studs were often locally milled from native timbers, and are often not uniform. If you drywall with some 5/8" right over these local, native studs, you can often end up with very defined "waves" in the finished wall. Leaving the lath on helps with that matter, as the laths were sometimes shimmed here and there to even out the wall and different lath thicknesses were chosen for certain sections of the wall to help. Plus, if you leave the lath on, you can tear off a strip midway and at the top and blow the cavities with blown insulation (savings over fiberglass batts), and the lath will hold the blown insulation in the cavity.

Advertisement

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 01:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75
Default

replacing lathe and plaster


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdshunk View Post
In lath and plaster construction, the baseboards and door trims were put up before the lath and plaster.
Thats not always true. I just got done tearing out baseboards in my 1930 Colonial House-lath and plaster extended 3 inches down the wall from the top of the baseboards in interior walls-and the exterior walls had full lath and plaster once the baseboards were removed.
AllGoNoShow is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plaster to drywall joint question. ERIK2173 Remodeling 7 05-16-2009 05:58 PM
plaster problems... gemelli2 Remodeling 2 10-11-2006 07:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts