Replace Porch Post? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2007, 06:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

replace porch post?


Greetings,

I need to replace the post that holds up one corner of the roof over our patio. Original moron just set it in the dirt, no idea how far it goes down, but its rotting & needs replacing.

Obviously I will pour a proper foundation for this post. Living in Florida, what is the best way to attach the new post to the concrete & at least get close to hurricane codes.

Thanks!
Lee

Advertisement

lrciii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 08:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Electric City wa
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

replace porch post?


Not sure about Florida. Up here in Washington state I would dig a hole 2 feet deep with a diameter of 30", put a 30" tube in the hole, put post in and fill with concrete.

Advertisement

warnerww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 08:51 PM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

replace porch post?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lrciii View Post
Greetings,

I need to replace the post that holds up one corner of the roof over our patio. Original moron just set it in the dirt, no idea how far it goes down, but its rotting & needs replacing.

Obviously I will pour a proper foundation for this post. Living in Florida, what is the best way to attach the new post to the concrete & at least get close to hurricane codes.

Thanks!
Lee
Go here: http://www.strongtie.com/hw/index.html?source=hpnav

If you have trouble finding what you think you need, contact them (Simpson Strong Ties) directly.

Link: http://www.strongtie.com/Contact_Us.asp

Or call (800) 999-5099
__________________
- Build Well -
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 10:12 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

replace porch post?


Why don't you just go down or call the Building Dept. for an informed opinion as to what you need. It's the hurricane issue that is the question.
In lower NY I would sink a 12" sonotube down 40" and fill it with concrete and anchor in a Simpson post hardware. I'd mount the post on the hardware and not in the concrete.
Better to do it once correctly.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing a corner post, Reinforcing the wall? jlawrence42 Building & Construction 5 08-21-2006 12:41 PM
PORCH - from BRICK to WOOD Kukurigu Building & Construction 1 11-12-2005 10:33 PM
Porch rebuild question Unregistered General DIY Discussions 1 11-26-2004 05:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts