Replace Eavestrophes By Myself? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-23-2008, 08:37 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

Replace eavestrophes by myself?

I can get someone professional in to replace the eavestrophes on my house...cost is about $800.00 to $1000.00

I have to do the 2 sides, 50 ft spans on each side.

Or I can get them to come out and cut me the 50ft lengths for about $350.00..but then I'd have to do them myself.

I can't see it being that hard...but I've never done them before.

If I did do it myself...a few questions.

1) Since these 50ft lengths are continuous...what are the steps to putting the up? Do I get 3 step ladders and get it close into position, attach the lower end first, and then slowly increase the slope. Or do I do it with high side first, and then work my way to the low end?

2) What is the proper slope I need for proper installation?

3) What precautions do I need to look for so I don't twist or bend or mess up the new eaves?

Thanks for your help.

Advertisement

hellothere123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 07:31 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 150

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellothere123 View Post
I can get someone professional in to replace the eavestrophes on my house...cost is about $800.00 to $1000.00

I have to do the 2 sides, 50 ft spans on each side.

Or I can get them to come out and cut me the 50ft lengths for about $350.00..but then I'd have to do them myself.

I can't see it being that hard...but I've never done them before.

If I did do it myself...a few questions.

1) Since these 50ft lengths are continuous...what are the steps to putting the up? Do I get 3 step ladders and get it close into position, attach the lower end first, and then slowly increase the slope. Or do I do it with high side first, and then work my way to the low end?