Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2011, 09:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

replace 2x12 with double 2x6??


I have 2x12 floor joists under a second floor bathroom. They are 16" OC and span only 8'0". I would like to replace 1 of these with a double 2x6 to make some plumbing easier.

Is there any problem with this?

SweatEquityGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 01:33 PM   #2
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

replace 2x12 with double 2x6??


Maybe, maybe not.

My guess is ...........


.........probably yes, it is a problem.

Andy.

AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 02:03 PM   #3
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,987
Default

replace 2x12 with double 2x6??


A nominal 2x12 with true dimensions of 1.5" x 11.25" has a moment of inertia of 178 in^4. A pair of nominal 2x6 with true dimensions 1.5" x 5.25" has a moment of inertia of 36 in^4. This makes the 2x12 about five times as strong in bending as the pair of 2x6's. Whether this is a problem in your particular case depends on the loads, the span, and the connection geometry.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 05:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: northwest indiana
Posts: 40
Default

replace 2x12 with double 2x6??


i also see it as a problem , the 2x12 was put there for a reason
fulton 22175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 06:27 PM   #5
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,054
Default

replace 2x12 with double 2x6??


Quote:
Originally Posted by fulton 22175 View Post
i also see it as a problem , the 2x12 was put there for a reason
Not necessarily. When a floor is figured, it is figured for the longest span. All the joists generally are the same width, so this results in some joists that are way oversized. I would say to check and make sure that the span is indeed 8'. Just because a joist runs over a wall, doesn't mean that wall is a bearing wall.
sixeightten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 06:44 PM   #6
timthetoolman
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 58
Default

replace 2x12 with double 2x6??


oh ohhh! Does someone need a soffit somewhere? Run it under the joists with a soffit.?. If you make it a little wider than the tub, this usually looks really good below. I like the sounds of 2X12 joists only spanning 8 feet, overbuilt how I like em. But don't mess with cutting apart your joists man...never a good idea.

Last edited by timthetoolman; 06-04-2011 at 06:46 PM.
timthetoolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 07:19 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 56
Default

replace 2x12 with double 2x6??


Its pretty unlikely theres bearing walls only 8 ft apart. You can drill holes in joist you know. How big of holes do you need? People always want to move structural elements to make plumbing easier, even on the contracting side of building. Theres a reason we frame them before the plumbing is ran. Be carefull when messing with structural elements.

ubenhad4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace or sister floor joists WillK Building & Construction 6 03-09-2011 08:55 PM
Must I replace the coil when I replace the outside condenser unit? plichtenstein HVAC 5 08-24-2010 02:41 PM
double walled ductwork question(s) peyton HVAC 8 04-19-2010 10:02 AM
replace galvanized pipe below kitchen sink? Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Plumbing 3 04-03-2009 08:39 AM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 02:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.