Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-09-2009, 10:16 AM   #1
Josh

Rewards Points: 10

Removing a stud, not damaging "back" wall

Hi there...
I am a newbie DIYer, having recently purchased a nearly 100-year-old house (we are coming up on celebrating the centennial of our house, along with the centennial year of the Titanic maiden and final voyage). The age of our house has brought out the DIYer in me, and I have cut my teeth on a number of both small and large projects.

My question is this... I am doing a full renovation of my bathroom, and my wife has decided that she would like me to convert a conventional door to a pocket door to maximize space in our small bathroom. The walls are drywall over plaster and lath on one side of the wall and simply plaster on the opposite side (i.e. the next room over). To install the pocket door I will need to cut out a stud, thereby taking the adjacent room's lath off of the stud. How do I do this without damaging the adjacent/ back wall's plaster and proving enough "support" for the lath and plaster on the back wall. This project, at least in my mind, is a no-go if I can't do this without renovating the wall in the adjacent room.

Thanks a bunch...

JoshuaBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 10:37 AM   #2
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Rewards Points: 2,000

Sounds like a job a Milwaukee Sawzall fitted with a 5" (# 40-00-5052) plaster blade might handle well. They cut a pretty clean line without tearing up too much of the wall... cuts on both forward and back strokes, and that seems to help in reducing the vibration.

If you have to buy one, purchase only Milwaukee. The rest are kind of inadequate compared to the original Sawzall.

Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 11:31 AM   #3
Josh