Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-14-2011, 09:49 PM   #1

Share |

Removing excess mortar from brick hearth

So i just built a brick hearth in my living room. Apparently I'm not very good at buttering bricks, because despite my best efforts when laying it, the bricks look mostly grey from the mortar. Will Muriatic Acid fix that?

KevinFoley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 11:02 PM   #2
Tileguy

It will but it shouldn't be used inside. It could also ruin nearby metals and pianos and computers. How about a photo? There may be a safer way to do it.

Old 12-15-2011, 10:37 AM   #3

I guess what I was reading everywhere was to dilute it 10:1 in water and scrub it on with a brush. Is that really still dangerous indoors? I've scrubbing with a good brush and it really doesn't do anything to take off the mortar. I'm not sure if ti makes a difference but I used type S mortar. I'll try to upload a picture tonight.
KevinFoley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:51 AM   #4
Tileguy

Quote:
I guess what I was reading everywhere was to dilute it 10:1 in water and scrub it on with a brush. Is that really still dangerous indoors?
Well then DO IT if you thinks that's the thing to do. You can't buy Muriatic Acid full strength that I know of, it is already diluted when you buy it at the store.

Here's the MSDS Sheet on the chemical. Read it then use it if you still have the nerve.http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdf...ruik|100119310

Last edited by Bud Cline; 12-15-2011 at 11:00 AM.
Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 09:11 PM   #5