Remove Middle Pole And Add 2 On The Outside? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 08:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Remove middle pole and add 2 on the outside?


Hi All,

Is it ever possible to remove the standard poles supporting the steel beam, but then adding 2 poles to the same beam, just closer to the ends?

For instance, could I just move it to the left corner where the broom is in the picture? I'd also put another one next to the black pipe so I would have 2 poles instead of 1, but they wouldn't be in the middle.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Remove middle pole and add 2 on the outside?-2-13-12-3.jpg  

Advertisement

Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,774
Rewards Points: 664
Default

Remove middle pole and add 2 on the outside?


It would be best to be asking an on site engineer these guestions. Anyone here would just be guessing and that may not work out in your favor when the flooring system fails.

Advertisement

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Remove middle pole and add 2 on the outside?


Oh I completely understand that. I was just wondering if it is possible for any situation or is it completely out of the question for all instances.
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:19 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Remove middle pole and add 2 on the outside?


It depends on what the spans are now and what they would be after.
Also not as simple a just moving the pole. A footing would be needed for each pole. You would need to cut the floor and pour a 2'x2'x2' footing for each pole. This would need to be speced by an engineer.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:27 PM   #5
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,306
Rewards Points: 2,190
Default

Remove middle pole and add 2 on the outside?


It is certainly possible to relocate poles, however the steel beam may need to be augmented with welded on plates. The analysis is not necessarily simple, since poles are point loads, and the beam is continuous over the poles, so the mathematics is surprisingly complex. That is why engineers go to school for many years.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:27 PM   #6
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Remove middle pole and add 2 on the outside?


Got it. Thanks all

Advertisement

Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts