Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-05-2008, 11:36 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Remodeling of commercial space

Hi All:
I am a business school student and I am working on a business plan as one of my projects. This business requires a 3600 sq ft space in a strip mall. I will need the interior finished like the attached file. Since this is an academic exercise I am not looking for an official quote. Are there any contractors willing to chime in on how much the interior "buildout" would cost? Assume all of the interior walls are 2 x 4 drywall construction, ceilings are 8 ft and can be of the acoustic tile type, assume 2 120V outlets per room and 1 240V outlet in the concession area for a commercial refrigerator. The restrooms should be ADA compliant. I am not looking for an official quote just some perspective. My initial guess was $18,000 or $5/sq ft of space. That is probably notcorrect but like I said I need some realistic perspective. Just to make sure it is clear, the outer walls already exist. Are there any rules of thumb on cost per square foot? I am in the Chicago area but I would like to here from any contractor or anyone with experience in this.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf The_Cardboard_Box_Layout_4.pdf (45.6 KB, 54 views)

kharms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 09:10 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by kharms View Post
Hi All: