DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Remodeling basement: Moist foundation

13K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  jomama45 
#1 ·
Hey guys. I've just joined the forums. I'm hoping to get advise on how to properly remodel my basement. I've received conflicting advice from various local contractors.

I'm a photographer, and need to finish the basement on my frame house (built 1930s) in Queens, NY in order to use the space for a studio. However, before I do that I need to address the moisture issue.

The foundation is lined with cinderblock, approximately 6-8" thick. and parts of it are consistently moist, moreso after rain, though there is no period at which the basement is completely dry.

Now, I've framed the entry to the basement with 2x4s and 5/8" greenboard (I try to learn as much about home improvement as I can as contractors in this area are very pricey). I was later informed that even greenboard will grow mold. I can already tell those parts of it that sit in the basement are already moist to the touch. So, be it as it may, I'm planning on re-framing the entry and using cement board, however, I first want to address the moisture issue.

One contractor had recommended that I use DRYLOK. So, to test how it works, I bought two buckets (this stuff isn't cheap). I cleaned the wall and applied 3 layers of it over 3 months. But the stuff never really dried. UGL tells me it can only be applied to completely dry surfaces (funny, because it's marketed as the ultimate water-proofer). They recommend I scrape it with a wire brush, and kill the mold that's been growing on it with bleach/water.

Be that as it may, it didn't solve my problem of stopping moisture. UGL tells me to dehumidify the whole basement prior to re-applying. However, running a 10,000BTU dehumidifier there for a whole month hasn't helped. The walls get constantly moist from rain.