Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2009, 08:12 AM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


Just an Update to this thread:

So I had the insulator come back to start installing True vents in the attic. My initial plan was to replace the soffits, but upon further inspection, they are ALL clear. Nothing is blocking them from venting. The soffits are open throughout. We also noticed that I DO have ridge vents (I just thought it was some sort of grey tarp-like material they placed when putting the shingle cap in 2002, but it's actually a form of wire-meshing)

The frost is most prevalent near the soffits themselves, indicating that the air is not flowing up to the ridge vent properly.










My Theory:

As stated before, I have 2 gable ends in the High attic, where the moisture is worst, but none in the lower attic where the moisture is far less prevalent. So when they installed the ridge vents, they did not block off the gable ends, causing a cross-circuit by having TOO much cold air entering the attic from the soffits and now from the gable ends. So there is so much cold air up there, its not really moving, which is causing the coldest air to sit near the soffit openings and frosting up.


Solution: Blocking off the gable ends and having TrueVents installed to guide the air up to the ridge vents.

Make sense?


Last edited by earthad1; 02-13-2009 at 02:03 PM.
earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 08:42 AM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


Quote:
Originally Posted by earthad1 View Post
Just an Update to this thread:

So I had the insulator come back to start installing True vents in the attic. My initial plan was to replace the soffits, but upon further inspection, they are ALL clear. Nothing is blocking them from venting. The soffits are open throughout. We also noticed that I DO have ridge vents (I just thought it was some sort of grey tarp-like material they placed when putting the shingle cap in 2002, but it's actually a form of wire-meshing)

The frost is most prevalent near the soffits themselves, indicating that the air is not flowing up to the ridge vent properly.


My Theory:

As stated before, I have 2 gable ends in the High attic, where the moisture is worst, but none in the lower attic where the moisture is far less prevalent. So when they installed the ridge vents, they did not block off the gable ends, causing a cross-circuit by having TOO much cold air entering the attic from the soffits and now from the gable ends. So there is so much cold air up there, its not really moving, which is causing the coldest air to sit near the soffit openings and frosting up.


Solution: Blocking off the gable ends and having TrueVents installed to guide the air up to the ridge vents.

Make sense?
Studies made here in Canada have shown that gable vents should not be used in conjunction with soffit/ridge venting!
Congrats! You have just re-invented the 'wheel'! (grin)
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 09:02 AM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
Studies made here in Canada have shown that gable vents should not be used in conjunction with soffit/ridge venting!
Congrats! You have just re-invented the 'wheel'! (grin)
Apparently not all roofers are aware of that known fact.

I am also in Canada (NB)

God I hope this fixes the issue. I'm running out of options/ideas...
earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 10:18 AM   #49
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


Two years ago we had a contractor blow in some more insulation in our attics to bring it up to around R50. We don't have ridge venting on our house (I have never even seen it in Alberta), but rather roof vents situated on the roof itself.

What we did is closed off all those roof vents except for one where we installed one of those wind turbines. The contractors theory is one wind turbine will move a lot more air than all those vents combined and if we leave the other vents open, the air the turbine pulls out of the attic will be replaced by air comingin the vents, not from the soffits.

Needless to say, we have do ice dams. I can't speak to the frost inside the attic as I don't go up there.

You guys have any comments on this? As I was thinking one of those wind turbines would help with the OP's attic ventilation.

Oh I see he does have a roof vent.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 11:50 AM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


Quote:
Originally Posted by drtbk4ever View Post
Two years ago we had a contractor blow in some more insulation in our attics to bring it up to around R50. We don't have ridge venting on our house (I have never even seen it in Alberta), but rather roof vents situated on the roof itself.

What we did is closed off all those roof vents except for one where we installed one of those wind turbines. The contractors theory is one wind turbine will move a lot more air than all those vents combined and if we leave the other vents open, the air the turbine pulls out of the attic will be replaced by air comingin the vents, not from the soffits.

Needless to say, we have do ice dams. I can't speak to the frost inside the attic as I don't go up there.

You guys have any comments on this? As I was thinking one of those wind turbines would help with the OP's attic ventilation.

Oh I see he does have a roof vent.
Yup I already have a ridge vent so I'm thinking them not closing off the gable ends when they installed it was a mistake...

I've heard those turbines don't really do a good job, but I've never had one anywhere I've lived so I don't know.
earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 12:33 PM   #51
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


Jon Eakes has written an article about venting in Canada and the use of power venting.
Here's the link! http://joneakes.com/cgi-bin/getdetailscals.cgi?id=628
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 12:59 PM   #52
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
Jon Eakes has written an article about venting in Canada and the use of power venting.
Here's the link! http://joneakes.com/cgi-bin/getdetailscals.cgi?id=628
Great article. Thanks for that...

Printed and will show to the insulation contractor tonight.
earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:19 PM   #53
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


Great article. He sure craps on my wind turbine set up. I guess I just need to make sure I have very little moisture exiting the living space. So I will have to venture into the attic and look for frost.

Damn I wish I had done this before the guys blew in all that extra insulation.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:23 PM   #54
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


Quote:
Originally Posted by drtbk4ever View Post
Great article. He sure craps on my wind turbine set up. I guess I just need to make sure I have very little moisture exiting the living space. So I will have to venture into the attic and look for frost.

Damn I wish I had done this before the guys blew in all that extra insulation.
I'm thinking the same thing...

I'm now also thinking of removing the louvers for my Air Exchanger and putting in some caulking where the louver meets the ceiling. I'm thinking that may be a source of moisture...

What about light fixtures? I know you're not allowed to put anything in the junction boxes where the actual wiring is... but should I seal up around the box, between the ceiling drywall and the box with caulking/Foam.
earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 07:05 AM   #55
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


So I now have those gable ends sealed up with some plywood and caulking. I also installed insulated hose going from the bathroom fan out into one of those dryer vents with the flaps, which is mounted into the center of one of the plywood sheets used to seal the gable ends.

Now, my last task is to remove the air exchanger that is up there which no longer works because its dripping . I just noticed last night.

I'm concerned about 2 things.

1. I'm not sure how the electrical cable to this thing is connected, whether it's like a plug or not and if I can simply "disconnect it" like a plug. I could turn off the breaker that is feeding the current to it, but I'm not sure if it was connected to it's own circuit, or if it is on the same circuit as other electrical devices in my home which I need.

2. The 2 insulated hoses connecting to this thing are still connected to vents going outside so cold air is coming into the unit and causing condensation since the unit is broken and therefore not running, which is dripping out of the corner of the unit onto the recently blown-in insulation. So I placed 2 buckets in each corner that its dripping from as a way to keep the water off the insulation while I figure out how to remove this ****ing thing.

So I'm thinking... Disconnect the hoses from the vents.... Seal the vents up with duct tape for now. Shove some batten insulation into the insulated hose, and then remove the unit from the attic.

I have a new, more efficient whole house fan which is also a heat recovery unit. The only problem is that it's too large to fit in the attic hatch. So this summer, I'm going to have to cut open the roof, between the frame as to not cut into one and get the unit in the attic that way...Then reconnect the hoses, open the vents back up ect...

Anyone have any suggestions which may make this a bit easier?

Thanks.
earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 01:39 PM   #56
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


So yea, I just went up on the roof and noticed both ridge vents completely blocked off by snow and ice. So I removed the blockage.

I'm thinking these things won't work well or at all if they are not constantly clear since snow acts as an insulator.

Therefore, being that we get a crapload of snow here, how am I going to ensure my ridge vents remain clear during the winter? Heat cables?
earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 07:32 AM   #57
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


So we removed the air exchanger and all the duct work as well since they were FULL OF WATER AND MOLD!!!!!!!!!!

no traces of mold anywhere else but in the ducts...

I'm going to shove pink insulation in the ceiling cavities where the ducts came out, followed by a layer of foam insulation, patch is up with drywall compound, put the louver back so it "looks" like there is something there, and finally seal the screw heads with silicone to ensure no air leaks caused by the screws. I have textured ceilings, which is why I'm putting the louvers back on.

Anyone see anything wrong with this plan?
earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 04:30 PM   #58
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


does anyone at all have some advice in regards to my last few posts?
earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:00 AM   #59
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


Hi everyone,

Its been about 2 years since I posted in this thread and I have an update.

Just to recap. I had 2 gable ends that I sealed up because I have a ridge vent. I then had insulation blown in and placed true vents to guide the cold air up to the ridge vent. I also insulated and sealed the attic hatches by gluing a piece of batten insulation to the top of the hatch, and lining it with foam insulation. I then placed hooks underneath so that when I close the attic hatch, it makes a seal.

I went up there yesterday to perform a visual inspection. It was -1 degree Celsius when I went up.

It "seems" pretty well dry up there. The insulation feels nice and dry but it feels to me that the sheathing may be still a little damp. Also, I noticed some frost on the edges of both sides where the gable ends are sealed up and the insulation directly below is is damp but the floor is bone dry.






My ridge vent is covered in snow but I've been told that the attic can still breath even though its covered.

Anyone have any ideas why I STILL have frost up there? Lack of ventilation now? Exterior seams not insulated properly. I'd like to get this damn thing fixed once and for all this spring.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!!!

Thanks!
earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 09:36 AM   #60
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation


It appears to me that water is coming through the roof above the gables.
Is the roof in good shape above this, or perhaps the ridge vent is short of the fascia and isn't sealed in a way that prevents water from entering?
You haven't shown the soffit venting in these pics.
I would think that you need to have some method of keeping the insulation blocking the flow from the soffits.
Frost forming on the underside of the roof sheeting is a sign of warm, moist air infiltrating from inside the house.
It may be coming into the attic by way of electrical boxes in the ceilings below.

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
Blown insulation Xtreme_99 General DIY Discussions 1 01-05-2009 05:56 AM
blown in attic insulation, replace or add to Yoyizit HVAC 17 11-10-2008 08:25 AM
Insulation over Attic Walkway BigJimmy Building & Construction 4 06-23-2008 02:13 AM
attic insulation question dderolph Building & Construction 10 11-03-2007 05:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.