Rebar In Electrical Conduit!! - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2007, 10:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Rebar in Electrical Conduit!!


HELP!!

Somehow during the pouring of the concrete, 1/2" rebar worked its way right through the middle of my 1" PVC electrical feeder conduit. It's about 2' into the slab.

Anyone have any clever ideas how to cut/remove the rebar without busting the concrete and creating a patch job?

Advertisement

DIYDaddy? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 02:51 PM   #2
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rebar in Electrical Conduit!!


When you say 2' into the slab do you mean it's about 2' from the open end of the conduit? Which way is the rebar sticking into the conduit, crosswise? If so you could maybe run a hole saw on a couple of extension bits and saw it off that way. Wrap something around the hole saw to keep the teeth away from the pvc. However, even if you can do that you run the risk of having sharp edges of the rebar inside the conduit which could rip the insulation of the wire as you pull it through. You also increase the risk of moisture entering the conduit through the break which is not good. I think you should play it safe and break out the slab and fix it correctly.

Advertisement

dmaceld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 11:27 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rebar in Electrical Conduit!!


Yes, it's about 2' from the open end. And yes, it's right through the middle just like the shape of a regular screw for an electrical faceplate. Moisture shouldn't enter the pipe if it's well within the slab i.e., not near the bottom nor exterior sides? At least not very much right? I can pull the wire from the other end - that way I can check to see if it was damaged during the pull. I also have access to a bore scope - it's how I know where the rebar is - I could use it during the pull and after to ensure no damage of the wires. Busting up the concrete will be really bad as the structure is already built.

What a mess!
DIYDaddy? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 10:31 AM   #4
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rebar in Electrical Conduit!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYDaddy? View Post
Moisture shouldn't enter the pipe if it's well within the slab i.e., not near the bottom nor exterior sides? At least not very much right?
Problem is, there are no guarantees, either that it will get wet, or that it will stay dry. At the very least consider using wire with insulation rated for use in damp locations. If there is any significant length of the conduit run exposed outside, you will probably get moisture in it anyway simply due the cooling/heating of the exposed conduit sucking in moisture from the air.
dmaceld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rebar in Electrical Conduit!!


I'm going to give a 7/8" hole saw with flexible extensions a try. If it doesn't work, I'll have to run a new feeder above ground - bummer!!

Thanks for the hole saw idea

Wish me luck....
DIYDaddy? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:54 PM   #6
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Rebar in Electrical Conduit!!


Quote:
At the very least consider using wire with insulation rated for use in damp locations.
I would consider this a wet install anyway, even if you replaced the conduit with a new one. I don't know what code is, but I would use THWN in any buried install, regardless of whether it's buried in concrete or dirt. The conduit WILL eventually fill with water, either by leak or by condensation.

Advertisement

jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the ICC Electrical Code? Chuck Electrical 7 02-20-2013 11:19 AM
Rebar Trees trout_baller Landscaping & Lawn Care 5 06-20-2007 06:39 PM
Conduit through basement wall. bdalekid Electrical 13 01-31-2007 09:35 PM
2" conduit and subpanels A.W.Davis Electrical 4 11-23-2006 09:23 PM
Running Conduit in new basement framed walls tben Electrical 3 12-11-2004 12:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts