Re-insulate,Re-sheath And Re-side - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2011, 12:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Re-insulate,Re-sheath and Re-side


We have a 1945 2 story home. the footprint is 24x24. The total siding hight would be 16". So I'm looking at less than 24x16x4(our house is a box)=1536sqf.

We currently have aluminum siding, Styrofoam board, original siding and original sheathing.

I'm thinking of re-insulating from the outside of our home and taking everything down to the sheathing.

I figure it might be a good idea to take a core sample at some point to see what the thickness's are of each layer.

For now, I'm trying to get an idea of the materials cost. What thickness of sheathing should i use 1/2", 3/4" or 5/8"? Does it mater?

Advertisement

unixb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 04:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Re-insulate,Re-sheath and Re-side


If the original sheathing is in good shape, leave it. Blow the insulation in from the exterior.

Advertisement

__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 04:42 PM   #3
journeyman carpenter
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 2,772
Rewards Points: 160
Default

Re-insulate,Re-sheath and Re-side


yup, just as ron said. ive done this sorta thing god knows how many times..

we strip the siding off or have a demoliton crew do it for us from there we bring in the blown-in insulators who drill their holes and insulate.. we put 1" foam back on, put tyvek on, prep the windows so the trim works out for the siding to fit to the window.. then side the house

completely stripping off the sheathing and insulating from the exterior is way more work than whats required and your leaving the house far more exposed to the weather if it starts to rain
woodworkbykirk is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stripping UF cable outer sheath Mike2401 Electrical 4 09-16-2011 06:54 PM
No Sheath Round 12/3 Wire TFSpaniel Electrical 14 07-26-2011 04:28 PM
How to Strip the Sheath HooKooDooKu Electrical 17 01-28-2010 12:25 AM
Color sheath on Romex/NM cable? vseven Electrical 26 01-13-2010 11:59 PM
Too much NM cable sheath inside j-box? deko Electrical 24 11-11-2009 04:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts