Re-building Barn/Workshop...Noob Here! - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-10-2012, 01:19 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Re-building Barn/Workshop...Noob Here!

Hey guys, im new here so please bare with me...i need to know if anyone can direct me to the right place, where can i find on this site plans on how to build a foundation for a barn/workshop/deck...basically how is the RIGHT way to build...

I tore down our old barn that was falling apart and i saved some wood that was still decent...ran them through my planer and they look real nice....i want to start on the foundation as i leveled all the dirt out with our bobcat and am so eager to do this....i love construction and the good feeling of "i built that"

please let me know where i could start or where to search on this forum if there is a basic outline on how build a workshop...

will post up pics as well once i can find my sd card loader....all help appreciated guys....

Advertisement

Last edited by Justin250; 03-16-2012 at 07:53 PM.
Justin250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 06:42 AM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 3,182

Foundations are designed for project at hand--there are several types---

what you need depends on the type of structure and the soil conditions---along with frost levels in your area.

To get the best directions here--

Let us know where you are building--(state and county)

Soil type--(sandy--loam--rocky--wet)

Style and size of the building---

I'm not a foundation guy,but there are a lot of folks here that have built out buildings and can offer up good advice on the best and most economical foundation or slab for your new building---Mike---

Advertisement

Old 03-10-2012, 10:19 AM   #3
JOATMON

Rewards Points: 2,614

As Oh'Mike said...lots of varaibles....