Re: Basement Damproofing. To Tar And Dimpleboard, Or Just Dimple And No Tar.. - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-20-2011, 12:05 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

re: basement damproofing. to tar and dimpleboard, or just dimple and no tar..

hello
i am in a bind, (there are workers working outside my house, and i am not good at making quick decicsions)

basically, i have an old 50 year old home with exisiting tar damproofing, that held up not to bad over time, but not great, there is some moisture in the walls sometimes, but never a leak inside.

they are installing dimpleboard on the exterior of the wall to help alliviate a drainage issue in a small area. not all the whole house

they want to put tar on the wall before they install the dimple board for "double protection"

i am concerned about moisture not being able to dry to the inside (double vapour retarder)

QUESTION:
should I let them retar? (they said they may have to void the warranty, which frankly i don't care to much for, because I don't think spot repair can hold up anyway).
it goes against my better judgement but i don't have alot of hands on experience in this area.

-g

Advertisement

Last edited by gramps416; 07-20-2011 at 12:08 PM.
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 12:11 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

if the existing dampproofing is on the exterior you can re-coat it and it will be fine. I would ask how they plan on termination the sides of the dimple board as a partial job will still be subject to soil infiltration from the sides.

Advertisement

AGWhitehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 12:24 PM   #3

so you are saying if they recoat it and have dimpleboard and tar is OK?. there is no issues drying the exterior or interior??