Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2009, 11:50 AM   #1
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Share |
Default

Range hood install questions


Hey Gang,

Here is the range hood we are installing. We are looking forward to getting this bad boy installed. To that end I completed the ducting yesterday.

I wrapped the 6 inch duct with pipe insulation for the section that is in the attic.

Do I nned to install insulation around the pipe for the small section that extends from the ceiling to the fan blower ? This part of the duct will be behind the stainless steel housing.

The install instructions say to only install 4 screws at the top of the blower to attach it to the wall. Page 6 of Installation Instruction pdf found in attached link. Actually the illustration shows only two screws, but there is room for 4 on the mounting bracket. That seems kind of flimsy to me. Actually seems no where near enough, but what do I know.

http://www.jenn-air.ca/en/ProductWar...XT8030ADS.html


Would you guys add another couple of screws lower down on the fan housing if you could? There are some holes there I can utilize.

And yes I have a wire run to my high effeciency furnace to install an interlock so that the furnace fan comes on when the range hood is on. This is to ensure there is fresh air being sucked in by the furnace.
Attached Images
 

__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.

Last edited by drtbk4ever; 10-06-2009 at 11:53 AM.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 01:58 PM   #2
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

Range hood install questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by drtbk4ever View Post
And yes I have a wire run to my high effeciency furnace to install an interlock so that the furnace fan comes on when the range hood is on. This is to ensure there is fresh air being sucked in by the furnace.
Wow! I never would have thought about that. Was that in the instructions?

WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 02:18 PM   #3
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Default

Range hood install questions


No, it was an electrician who suggested it. The instructions are crap.

This range vent is a 600 cfm, so a negative pressure situation is a possibility when the hood is turned on.
__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 09:41 AM   #4
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Default

Range hood install questions


Anybody have some input??
__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 12:38 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Range hood install questions


I'm not HVAC, though I've installed a few. Any ducting in the attic needs to be insulated and a vapor barrier to keep the moisture/grease from condensing inside the duct.
The insulation shall be made of inorganic glass fibers, semi-rigid for duct work and suitable for temperatures up to 450 degrees F. Insulation shall have a density of three (3) pounds per cubic foot and a thickness of 1 inch. Insulation shall include a factory applied vapor barrier.
Recommended: Owens/Corning Fiberglass, type 703 with FRK-25 factory applied foil reinforced draft facing or equal. Use 3 screws minimum, per code and wrap with foil duct tape, and possibly duct setting compound. All crimped ends pointing towards exhaust. You should have a back-draft damper. If you have a homeowner’s association or townhouse, check for additional laws.

Combustion appliances warning
Bathroom fans, kitchen fans, clothes
dryers, and wood, gas, oil, and propane
combustion appliances remove household
air when operating. Sometimes removing
air from the home can create negative
pressure resulting in back-drafts. The use
or increased use of exhaust fans can, at
times, draw combustion gases such as
carbon monoxide (CO) into the home from
the combustion equipment. Safety officials
recommend installing a CO detector in
homes with combustion appliances. If a
recurring presence of CO is detected in the
home, immediate action should be taken to
locate the source and correct the cause.
Back-drafting can be diagnosed and
corrected by some experienced heating
contractors and safety specialists


Be safe, Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 02:25 PM   #6
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Default

Range hood install questions


Gary, the venting is 6" round metal ducting. The ducting in the attic has all joints taped with foil tape and wrapped insulation with a vapor barrier on it. Where the vapor barrier was open I then also wrapped in the foil tape. I am sure it isn't up to the standard of the 703 stuff you mentioned, but is all I could find.

The only cumbustion apparatuses we have in the house we have to worry about is the hot water tank and the fireplace. The furnace is a high effeciency model.

Regardless, I like the idea of a carbon monoxide detectors.

I may insulate (without vapor barrier) the inside vent pipe if I find it too noisy.
__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:00 AM   #7
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 858
Default

Range hood install questions


GBR, is there anything you don't know? ha!

__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Range receptacle install for SE cable run buhockey Electrical 2 03-11-2009 10:56 PM
no ground on range hood fabian Electrical 3 02-03-2009 08:50 AM
Range hood questions. Artie2 Appliances 4 07-15-2008 08:23 PM
Same Circuit: Range Hood, DW, and GD? atty_toconnor Electrical 4 04-08-2008 04:43 PM
tiling questions - in middle of install mwill Flooring 8 12-11-2007 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.