Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2008, 11:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Ramset for metal framing


Has anyone used a ramset to attach a track to the concrete when framing with metal/steel.

thanks

Mirimaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 11:11 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Ramset for metal framing


Yup.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 06:33 AM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Default

Ramset for metal framing


Yes, use a low power charge (cap) with a short "treated" fastener. You only need a 1" or less length fastener. You can also use a cap type fastener as well.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 01:16 PM   #4
Drywall contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 2,094
Default

Ramset for metal framing


Agreed........be sure you have the right pins and use eye/hearing protection.
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read this in English, thank a soldier. Support our troops.
bjbatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:30 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,596
Default

Ramset for metal framing


You can shoot wood down to concrete as well, just use a longer pin.

In fact, using the proper pin, you can even shoot stuff like electrical boxes onto steel.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 10:19 AM   #6
Member
 
Chagres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 32
Default

Ramset for metal framing


I shot down miles of track and also up for clips for acoustical ceiling hanger wire over a 14 year career, so the answer is yes! The loads come in different strengths, with yellow being the most common. But if your concrete is old (really, really cured), it will tend to chip out when you shoot it. If this happens, back off to a tamer load, probably brown.

If you're not going to be using it much, save money by buying one that is activated by whacking it with a hammer, rather than one that uses a trigger.

Chagres
http://www.icanfixupmyhome.com

Chagres is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
framing material estimate maydoug Building & Construction 38 06-12-2009 01:32 PM
How do I find a framing contractor in Rhode Island christy123 Building & Construction 2 10-25-2006 10:29 PM
Framing Gun - Nail Shank Diameter Questions... MoparAutoworks Building & Construction 5 07-03-2006 09:27 PM
Wood Framing Getting Wet? stagger19 Carpentry 2 05-10-2006 08:37 AM
Framing a 16 foot high wall for shop pranderson Building & Construction 10 01-01-2006 04:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.