Ramp Help - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-20-2013, 01:36 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 508

ramp help

I am having a hard time with this little ramp I am trying to build onto a small deck I just finished on my shed. I have never built anything before and there is a thread about the deck on here. I think my biggest issue is that the ground is going up hill from the ramp and I suck with a circular saw. The small piece on the right is actually the piece I cut off of the longer piece. I think it fits perfect and the other one may just be to long. Those 2 mark how wide the ramp will be for the lawnmower. I will have 3 joists when I figure it out and its about 3.5' wide.

ramp help-forumrunner_20131020_133454.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
ramp help-forumrunner_20131020_133058.jpg   ramp help-forumrunner_20131020_133502.jpg  

Advertisement

Last edited by nikeman; 10-20-2013 at 01:39 PM.
nikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 01:56 PM   #2

ramp help

not sure why the upside down picture is there but I can't delete it...

Advertisement

Old 10-20-2013, 02:29 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 610

ramp help

Both joist need to be the same length.
Old 10-20-2013, 02:52 PM   #4

ramp help

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Both joist need to be the same length.

Obviously. Lol. The small one on the right was the part I cut off of the one on the left. It just happened to fit there for the width test. I think all the joists will be the length on the right since it turned out pretty good. I might cut it shorter though since there's a tree root right at the end of it of course.
Old 10-20-2013, 02:57 PM   #5
Mod

Rewards Points: 2,526

ramp help

Looks like it's time for a little shovel work to me.
The Following User Says Thank You to kwikfishron For This Useful Post: