Raising An Existing Jack Post (Telepost) - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-13-2011, 11:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Raising an existing Jack post (Telepost)

Hello. Im a newbie on this site and have really appreciated this site in providing me valuable information on my first home. Here is the scenario I am dealing with now.
I currently have a balcony above the garage. THis balcony is supported by one major beam (around 20 ft in length) with a single jackpole in the middle of the beam (in the garage). I guess over the years with heavy snow accumulating on the balcony as well as foundation settling (noticeable by a few cracks on concrete garage floor), the main beam has sagged slightly.
This beam also has some lateral cracks which I believe are normal over time. The beam is also extremely dry that it can easily be chipped as it is very rough (if that helps at all)
My method to solve this problem was simply to turn the existing jackpole so that it raises the main beam a day at a time (1/16 of an inch per day) I have only done it once so far and before continuing wanted to make sure this was the proper method. I have seen other threads where two sistering jackpoles were needed, but in my case wasn't sure why this would be necessary on an existing jackpole.

Advertisement

malicio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 09:52 AM   #2
Mold!! Let's kill it!

Rewards Points: 2,012

Could be that there is not enough footing under the post to bear the load. If that is the case then turning the screw may solve your problem temporarily, but it will continue to settle and sag. You really need to decide what caused the sag in the first place. Then attack the problem where it truly exists.

Advertisement

Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 10:02 AM   #3