Radon In Roxul Insulation? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-01-2010, 07:52 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Radon in Roxul insulation?

I just bought Roxul batt insulation @ Home Depot. When I got home I read on the Package, That the material is manufactuired from a stone derivative. I am a home inspector, and since radon comes out of the ground ,I wondered if the insulation has been tested for radon? Does anyone know if the factory or a third party tests the insulation for radon before it goes out the door? If not I will do a test that requires at least 48 hours and then I send sealed container off to test lab to receive results in a few days.

Advertisement

stretchonme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:36 PM   #2

Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Rewards Points: 2,134

Roxul is mineral wool. Fiberglass is also made from a stone derivative(sand). Both are processed in manufacturing facilities at very high temperatures that totally eliminate the structure and burn off gases.

If you are really worried or really, really worried (paranoid) take a look at cellulose that is from trees, etc. but does have a mineral added for fire resistance and mold prevention.

I am also a home inspector and that requires nothing more than being a generalist on different phases of residential properties and know how the gimmicks work on selling test kits and mail order testing services to increase income through fear. Being a registered structural engineer and expert witness with many years under the belt and writing codes and standards, I just don't bother with possibilities and just justified potential problems.