Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-05-2009, 12:34 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Questions about building stairs.

I just bought a house and tomorrow is "D" day for the basement. I'm tearing down everything. the previous owner built the house from the ground up. he built a really nice house but he did cut some corners and I'm just not cool with that.

Anyways, About the stairs. Im pretty sure he knew ahead of time that he was going to carpet the stairs because he did a very sloppy job building them. I dont want carpeted stairs because basements are usually moist. I am shooting for nice solid wood stairs.

He used two different types of wood, pine(i think) for the stringers and treads and partical board for the risers. The stairs is falling apart. The partical board is shot from moisture. The stairs need to be torn down.

Now. I am very new to building anything. I only have simple questions. I have done a good amount of reading on building stairs. But I do have some questions.

#1: Im building the stairs along side a wall. From the videos and pic I have see online. It's appears that the stringer closest to the wall is not fastened to the wall/ beams. Why? The skirt board get nailed to the wall why not the stringer?

#2: What is the purpose of the skirt board? More visual the structural? I am thinking that it's sole purpose is to cover up the gap between the treads/ risers and the wall and thats it. I read that a few people like to use it for both. Whats ideal?

#3: For creating solid hardwood stairs whats better,... using a single thicker piece of nice hardwood for the treads and risers or build the stairs using a cheaper everyday woodand then just cap the tread and risers with maybe a thinner piece of nice hardwood? Maybe use a 3/4" pine with a 3/4" something nice on top of that for the tread and risers?