DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

A question about dormers

3K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  Brik 
#1 ·
Hello all, I have a question from a total newbie. I'm such a newbie, I don't even own a house yet!

We're looking into buying our first house. We've found an historic home that is "just perfect, except..." Wonderful location, within our price range, blah blah blah... Half of the house is a typical two-story and works well. In the other (older) half, the attic was finished, but it is incredibly short. I'm 5'6 and can just barely stand up in the center, and of course most of the space is shorter as it stretches under the eaves.

We could live in the house as-is for now and be happy, but for the house to work for us long-term (say, with kids or even my parents sharing the space) we'd need those rooms to be livable. I've already checked and there are no ordinances that would prevent us from modifying the home.

How would one go about altering this? I was thinking of a shed dormer, but realistically, even the highest point needs to be raised. Can a dormer wrap over the peak of a roof? Would it be necessary to literally raise the roof? We would hire a contractor for the major work, although I'm more than happy to jump in and do some of the finishing. Does this project sound too big for new and inexperienced home owners?

I've attached a picture of one short room, looking through the doorway into the second short room. For reference, the doorway is a little over 4 feet tall.

See less See more
#4 ·
It varies by location. In this case, no--I checked into it beforehand and there are no local ordinances to protect this particular house. In fact, much of the house was renovated by the last owners, or I'd be more reticent about changing it's character.